Top 5: Legendary teams from the world of motorsport

Four teams that knew how to win, and one that got it very wrong.
Scuderia Ferrari.
Scuderia Ferrari.

Scuderia Ferrari

While the UAE may be rammed with all manner of Ferrari road cars, motor racing has always been the company's main focus, with Enzo famously saying that selling cars just enabled him to continue racing. It was a means to an end. Ferrari has participated in many forms of racing but F1 is where it has reigned supreme. Since the conception of F1 in 1950, Ferrari has won no fewer than 16 constructors' championship and 15 drivers' championship titles, with famous names such as Fangio, Surtees and Schumacher at the wheel.


Famous for the evocative blue-and-orange livery on its 917 race cars as much as the number of wins it racked up, Gulf-Porsche will forever be synonymous with the 24 Hours of Le Mans endurance race. Sealing its place in the history books, Steve McQueen's 1971 film, Le Mans, featured them extensively. The 917 was more powerful than a Bugatti Veyron and almost as fast, so it's hardly surprising that it dominated endurance racing, and Gulf Oil's colours are still in use today for Aston Martin Racing.

Andrea Moda

Legendary for all the wrong reasons, Andrea Moda has found dubious fame as the worst team in F1's history. Owned by Italian shoe manufacturer Andrea Sassetti, the team suffered from a total lack of direction, poor funding and cars that were not even close to being properly developed. It lasted one season, in 1992, when, after failing to pre-qualify for a single race, team owner Sassetti was arrested at the Belgian Grand Prix on charges of corruption. The FIA then banned the team for bringing the sport into disrepute.

Citroën Total World Rally

Like Gulf-Porsche, Citroën Total has dominated motorsport, albeit on the world's rally stages, rather than the race track. The team debuted in 1989 but it wasn't until the arrival of Sébastien Loeb in 2002 that it became a truly unstoppable force. Loeb has become the Michael Schumacher of WRC, winning the world championship a record eight times in a row between 2004 and 2011 with Citroën Total bagging the constructors' title seven years in a row due to not competing in 2006.

Hendrick Motorsport

Throughout the history of Nascar, two teams are clearly the cream of the crop: Hendrick Motorsport and Petty Enterprises. Both have 10 championships; Hendrick has 199 Sprint Cup victories while Petty, which has been around since 1954, has won 268. But Petty hasn't won a cup since 1979, and the fact that Rick Hendrick's team, started in 1984, won five straight cups with Jimmie Johnson behind the wheel and that it has won all of these in the most competitive era in Nascar history gives it the edge.


Published: December 15, 2011 04:00 AM


Editor's Picks
Sign up to:

* Please select one