Super League shambles: 48 hours when football self-destructed

When plans were revealed for a new European Super League, featuring the biggest football clubs in Europe, initially 12 teams signed up.

Six of them were from the English Premier League - Manchester City, Manchester United, Arsenal, Liverpool, Tottenham and Chelsea. There was to be no relegation for the 15 founder members. Dominic Hart, sports editor at The National, talks to Andy Mitten, The National's European football correspondent, about the reaction to the announcement and the clubs withdrawing.


European Super League fallout