Nobel Peace Prize winners - in pictures

From Mother Theresa to Malala, The National highlights some of the exceptional people to be awarded Nobel's most distinguished award

Beta V.1.0 - Powered by automated translation

Since its inception in 1901, about 109 individuals and 25 organisations have been awarded the Nobel Peace Prize.

The International Committee of the Red Cross has won it three times, while the Office of the United Nation's High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR) has won it twice.

The UNHCR, with naturalist Sir David Attenborough, Ukrainian President Volodymyr Zelenskyy, the World Health Organisation and Pope Francis and are among the nominees for the 2022 prize.

The peace prize winner is decided by the Norwegian Nobel Committee, made up of six people and chaired by Berit Reiss-Andersen. The others are vice chair Asle Toje, secretary Olav Njolstad, Anne Enger, Kristin Clemet and Jorgen Watne Frydnes.

From the first winners, Henry Dunant and Frederic Passy, to 2021 winners Maria Ressa and Dmitry Muratov, take a look in the gallery above to see some of the winners through the years.

More from The National

Who was Alfred Nobel and why are the Nobel prizes named after him?

Who picks the Nobel prize winners?

Nobel prize awarded to three scientists for their work in click chemistry

Nobel Prize for Physics awarded to trio for work in quantum mechanics

Nobel Prize for Medicine awarded to Svante Paabo for discoveries on Neanderthal genome

Updated: October 07, 2022, 8:29 AM