Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi shortlisted for Globe Soccer Awards player of the year

The Globe Soccer Awards take place in Dubai at the end of December and are part of the International Sports Conference.

Lionel Messi is the current Globe Soccer Awards player of the year and has once again been shortlisted for the 2016 award. Manu Fernandez / AP Photo
Powered by automated translation

Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi have been named among the nominees for the 2016 Globe Soccer Awards player of the year.

Held in Dubai on December 27-28, the Globe Soccer Awards are part of the International Sports Conference where figures from the world of football converge on the emirate to discuss the big topics dominating the sport.

Entering its seventh edition, the Globe Soccer Awards were created to recognise the best contributors to football — globally and regionally — both on and off the field.

Once again, Barcelona superstar Messi, the current holder of the award, is on the six-man shortlist for best player. The Argentina forward, has enjoyed another standout season for Barcelona, leading his club to the domestic double of Primera Liga and Copa del Rey titles.

• Video: Lionel Messi's masterclass for Argentina against Colombia

Ronaldo, who won the award in 2014, takes his place on the shortlist following a year of success for club and country. The Portuguese forward was a central figure in Real Madrid’s march to their 11th European Cup before helping his national team to victory at Euro 2016.

Ronaldo’s clubmate Gareth Bale has also been nominated for his part in Real Madrid’s success as well as his inspired role in Wales’ impressive Euro 2016 campaign where they reached the semi-finals.

Atletico Madrid forward Antoine Griezmann — player of the tournament at Euro 2016 and top-scorer with six goals — takes his place on the shortlist, as does England striker Jamie Vardy for his 24-goal Premier League season that helped Leicester City achieve the most unlikely of title triumphs.

The final player on the shortlist is Messi’s international colleague Gonzalo Higuain. The Argentina forward equalled an 87-year-old record when he scored 36 goals in Serie A during the 2015/16 season for Napoli. He has since joined title rivals Juventus for an Italian transfer record fee.

The full list of nominees for each category, as well as a breakdown of all the categories, is available below.

* The National staff

Player of the year

• Cristiano Ronaldo

• Lionel Messi

• Gareth Bale

• Antoine Griezmann

• Jamie Vardy

• Gonzalo Higuain

Club of the year

• Legia Warsaw

• Leicester City

• Sevilla

• Molde FK

• Real Madrid

Coach of the year

• Claudio Ranieri

• Fernando Santos

• Massimiliano Allegri

• Unai Emery

• Zinedine Zidane

Referee of the year

• Bankary Papa Gassama

• Mark Clattenburg

• Nestor Pitana

• Joel Antonio Aguilar

• Alireza Faghani


• Player of the Year

• Club of the Year

• Coach of the Year

• Referee of the Year

• GCC Player of the Year

• GCC Club of the Year

• CSL Player of the Year

• Agent of the Year

• Player Career Award

• Director Career Award

• Best Sports Media Agency

• Best Media Attraction in Football

Follow us on Twitter @NatSportUAE

Like us on Facebook at