Flight restrictions from UAE to Philippines extended until July 15

Philippine government continues to restrict passengers from seven countries

Latest: Dubai travel restrictions extended until July 21

Passengers originating from the UAE will not be able to fly to the Philippines until at least July 15.

The ban was first imposed on May 15, 2021, after passengers entering the Philippines from the UAE were found to be infected with the Delta strain of Covid-19.

“This is a proactive measure amid the implementation of international border control because of Covid-19 Delta variant,” the Philippines' presidential spokesman, Harry Roque, said in an online announcement.

Travellers from India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Nepal and Oman are also banned from entry until July 15.

Flights from the UAE are still operating, but only for transiting passengers who do not pass through customs and enter Dubai.

"Flights will continue to operate as scheduled and passengers transiting in Dubai and those returning to the Philippines under the government repatriation programme will be allowed to travel," an Emirates official said.

"We continue to operate to the Philippines, but as directed by the government of the Philippines, passengers whose journey originates from the UAE, including Filipino nationals, will not be accepted for travel to all points in the Philippines."

Outbound travel to all seven countries from the Philippines is still permitted.

Updated: July 12th 2021, 10:47 AM