Who has qualified for Qatar World Cup 2022? Full list of teams and play-offs

A look at all the teams who have punched their tickets to Qatar

Powered by automated translation

Senegal and Portugal became the latest teams to secure qualification for the 2022 World Cup after contrasting wins on Tuesday.

Portugal defeated the dangerous North Macedonia 2-0 in a European play-off on Tuesday, securing a fifth World Cup appearance. It was one of seven spots in football's premier tournament that were decided on the day.

Robert Lewandowski converted a penalty in the 50th minute as Poland made it to their straight World Cup berth with a 2-1 victory over Sweden in their European play-off.

Meanwhile, there was controversy in Dakar as Senegal advanced following a penalty shootout win over Egypt after fans pointed lasers to Mohamed Salah’s face while he stepped up to take his team's first penalty kick.

Earlier, Uruguay and Ecuador sealed their spots at Qatar 2022, joining Brazil and Argentina as the automatic qualifiers from the South American group.

Uruguay beat Peru 1-0 and Ecuador lost 3-1 to Paraguay, while Peru beat Paraguay 2-0 in the last round of South American World Cup qualifiers to secure fifth place in the standings and entry to an intercontinental play-off.

Also, the UAE handed South Korea a surprise 1-0 defeat in Dubai to set up a play-off clash with Australia as they kept alive their hopes of a first World Cup appearance in 32 years.

In other Asia qualifying, Saudi Arabia clinched a second successive global finals place even before their 1-1 draw with China after Japan beat Australia in Sydney.

Japan also secured their place in Qatar. South Korea and Iran have punched their tickets by taking the top two spots in Group A.

Thirty-two teams, including the hosts Qatar, will play the showpiece event which starts on November 21. So far, 29 teams have qualified. Two intercontinental playoffs will be held in June along with two games to determine the final European berth.

Qatar 2022 will be the last 32-team World Cup before the 2026 World Cup across North America expands to 48 teams.

The tournament takes place from November 21-December 18, 2022.

Allocation of spots

Thirteen spots go to Europe, five to Africa, four-and-a-half go to both Asia and South America, three-and-a-half to North and Central America and the Caribbean, and half to the Oceania region. Those "half" spots earned by teams send them to a pair of intercontinental play-offs for the last two places at Qatar 2022.

Uefa (Union of European Football Associations)

Portugal defeated North Macedonia 2-0 and Poland saw off Sweden by the same score in play-off finals.

Italy's shock exit had North Macedonia hoping of their first ever appearance at a World Cup finals but Cristiano Ronaldo's Portugal proved a step too far in Porto.

Twelve European sides have now clinched a place at the World Cup.

Gareth Bales' Wales will take part in the other play-off final but that match is on hold until at least June after the war in Ukraine led to the postponement of the Ukrainians' semi-final against Scotland.

Asia (Asian Football Confederation)

Twelve teams advanced to the third round of Asian qualifying, divided into two groups of six teams to play home-and-away round-robin matches. The top two from each group will qualify for the World Cup, and the third-placed teams will advance to the fourth round.

Harib Abdalla Suhail was the star as the UAE stunned South Korea 1-0 to advance to an Asian qualifying play-off against Australia.

North America, Central America, Caribbean (Concacaf)

Three direct slots and one inter-confederation play-off slot in the final tournament were available for Concacaf teams.

The US and Mexico both booked their tickets for Qatar 2022. US lost 2-0 to Costa Rica but still progressed along with the Mexicans, who beat El Salvador 2-0 on Wednesday. Canada had already secured qualification.

Costa Rica finished fourth in the standings and will face New Zealand in an intercontinental qualifier in June for a spot in the main event.

South America (Conmebol)

Five-time world champions Brazil became the first team from South America to book their place in Qatar following a 1-0 win over Colombia on November 11.

Lionel Messi secured a fifth shot at getting his hands on a World Cup after Argentina's stalemate against Brazil on November 16.

The top four teams in the single table advance to the World Cup, while the fifth-place team goes to an intercontinental play-off. Peru defeated Paraguay 2-0 for fifth place, and will compete for a berth against the winner of Asia’s fifth-place playoff between Australia and the UAE on June 7.

Oceania (OFC)

New Zealand took a big step towards qualifying for the finals for the first time since 2010 with a 5-0 win over the Solomon Islands in the Oceania qualifying final.

The All Whites will face Costa Rica in their intercontinental playoff.

Intercontinental play-off

One representative each from Asia, Concacaf, Oceania and South America will play two-legged ties to determine the last two World Cup berths. Those games are slated for June 2022.

Who won't be going to Qatar?

While there are still plenty of places to be decided, there will be plenty of big names that won't be at next year's World Cup.

Updated: March 31, 2022, 7:43 AM