IPL 2019: MS Dhoni and David Warner anchor team of the season

Paul Radley has selected his best XI from this season's matches

Powered by automated translation

With Season 12 of the Indian Premier League done and dusted, the time has come once again to put together a composite team made up of the best players across the eight franchises.

Some players pick themselves, of course, such as Sunrisers Hyderabad opener David Warner, Andre Russell of Kolkata Knight Riders, as well as two South African bowlers who took their respective teams to the play-offs this year: Imran Tahir of Chennai Super Kings and Kagiso Rabada of Delhi Capitals.

There are some surprising omissions, such as those of Mumbai Indians wicketkeeper Quinton de Kock - another South African to have excelled in IPL 2019 - and, perhaps, Parthiv Patel of Royal Challengers Bangalore.

But both players had to make way for the brilliant Ms Dhoni who nearly led Chennai to another title.

To find out who else did and why, browse through the photo gallery above. To move on to the next position, click the arrows on the photo, or if using a mobile device simply swipe left/right.

And while you check out this team, take the chance to compare it to the one put together by Chitrabhanu Kadalayil.