Coronavirus: UAE confirms 12 new cases

The latest positive tests bring the total number of cases in the country to 98

The UAE confirmed 12 new cases of coronavirus infection on Sunday.

The latest positive tests take the total number of cases in the country to 98.

The Ministry of Health and Prevention said the patients are three people from India and one each from the UAE, South Africa, Australia, China, the Philippines, Lebanon, the United Kingdom, Italy and Iran.

All are in a stable condition and receiving medical treatment.

On Monday, officials announced three more people had recuperated from the virus, taking the total number of recoveries to 26.

The Ministry of Health and Prevention said in a statement that the patients, two Bangladeshis and an Indian, were now "symptom-free".

The bulk of the latest batch of cases were related to those who had come into contact with people entering from outside the country. The rest had travelled abroad themselves, Wam reported.

As of Sunday, there were more than 162,000 coronavirus cases across the globe, leading to more than 6,000 deaths.

More than 76,000 people have made full recoveries after recording positive tests for the virus.

UAE authorities have imposed travel restrictions in an effort to limit the spread of the pandemic.

The Federal Authority for Identity issued a temporary suspension of entry visas into the Emirates, effective from Tuesday, to curb the spread of Covid-19.

On Sunday, passport holders who qualify for a visa on arrival when entering the UAE will not be affected by the measures.

In response to a number of queries about suspension, the General Directorate of Residency and Foreigners Affairs have since clarified the rules surrounding the decision.

In an updated message on its customer support line, it said some travellers will be exempt from the move.

"Please be informed that all types of entry visa issuance has been temporarily suspended until further notice, except diplomatic passport holders and visa on arrival," it said.

An updated alert on the Dubai Airports website confirmed the same.

It said it did not apply to passengers holding diplomatic passports, those whose visas were issued before March 17 or passengers who hold passports from a list of 45 countries including the UK, Canada, Australia and the US.

“These passengers can continue to travel to and from the UAE although may be subject to additional screening,” it said.

All flights to and from Lebanon, Iraq, Syria and Turkey will be halted from March 17, until further notice.