World T20: Tamim Iqbal a titan for Bangladesh with unbeaten 83 against Netherlands

Tamim Iqbal beta back a stiff Netherlands challenge on Wednesday as preliminary stage group favourites Bangladesh secured an 8-run victory.

Bangladesh's Tamim Iqbal bats during their World T20 match against the Netherlands on Wednesday in Dharamsala. Ashwini Bhatia / AP / March 9, 2016
Powered by automated translation

Opener Tamim Iqbal struck an unbeaten 83 to guide Bangladesh past a spirited Netherlands by eight runs in their first group encounter of the World Twenty20 in Dharamsala on Wednesday.

Put into bat, Bangladesh suffered from a lack of partnerships but Tamim, with his fourth T20 half-century, almost single-handedly lifted the score to 153 for seven.

It was a disappointing show of batting from a side which sparkled in the recently concluded Asia Cup, where the hosts ended runners-up after a keenly contested final against India.

Tamin though remained unaffected with the wicket-fall as the left-hander smacked six boundaries and three sixes during his 58-ball stay.

Read more: Your guide to the 2016 World T20 in India

Also see: Virat Kohli and India, can they be stopped? The National predicts the 2016 World T20

Netherlands medium-pacer Timm van der Gugten led the charge with three wickets as Paul van Meekeren and left-arm spinner Roelof van der Merwe got three wickets between them.

The Dutch batsmen also put up a brave show to give Bangladesh a run for their money but ultimately experience prevailed and the minnows were restricted to 145 for seven in their 20 overs.

Opener Stephen Myburgh provided a solid start to the Orange brigade and skipper Peter Borren took it forward but left-arm spinner Shakib Al Hasan’s twin strike put a lid on Dutch hopes.

In the end, lower-order batsman Mudassar Bukhari provided a scare with his five-ball 14 but his runout spelt the end for Netherlands, who are making their third appearance in the tournament.

Mashrafe Morataza-led Bangladesh are favourites to top their group and move into the Super 10 stage of the 16-team event.

Follow us on Twitter @NatSportUAE

Like us on Facebook at