Abu Dhabi, UAEThursday 26 November 2020

Pakistan and Bangladesh decide to split Test series, T20 tour to begin on January 24

The Tigers will also play a one-off ODI in Karachi after the Pakistan Super League

Pakistan and Bangladesh have decided to play split the scheduled Test and T20 series into three parts, paving the way for the Tigers' tour of Pakistan.

Bangladesh were unwilling to play T20s and Tests in Pakistan in January, citing tension in the Middle East. On Tuesday, the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) announced that Bangladesh will now play three T20s in Lahore from January 24 to 27.

According to the new itinerary, the Tigers will return to Pakistan to play one Test in Rawalpindi on February 7.

Following the Pakistan Super League, which will finish on March 22 in Lahore, Bangladesh will return to play a one-off one day international in Karachi on April 3 before playing the second Test at the same venue from April 5.

Following the decision, which was facilitated by International Cricket Council chairman Shashank Manohar, PCB chairman Ehsan Mani said: “I am pleased that we have amicably achieved a resolution that is in the best interest of this great sport as well as both the proud cricket playing countries. I also want to thank ICC chairman Shaskank Manohar for the leadership he provided and ensured the sport continues to grow and thrive in the two countries.”

PCB chief executive Wasim Khan added: “It is a win-win outcome for both the boards. I am glad that the uncertainty around the series is now over and we can start planning for the smooth delivery of the matches. Bangladesh will visit Pakistan thrice, which should give them the comfort that Pakistan is as safe and secure as any other cricket playing country."

Updated: January 14, 2020 06:32 PM

Editor's Picks
Sign up to our daily email