M&M's are haram in the UK: plus, other snacks that are sometimes not halal

M&M's UK Twitter account confirmed the snack is not suitable for a halal diet: but, rest assured, those sold in the UAE are always halal

M&M's are not always suitable for a halal diet, the company confirms. Pixabay
Beta V.1.0 - Powered by automated translation

While this is nothing new, the fact that the M&Ms sold in many countries are not suitable for a halal diet has had social-media users up in arms over the past few weeks.

It all started innocently enough: @TheLifeOfBako asked M&M's UK on Twitter to clarify whether or not the chocolate snack is halal.

"Hi, thanks for getting in touch," they replied that same day. "M&M's are not suitable for a halal diet. We use additives that come from animal products when we're making M&M's and traces of these can be found in sweets.

"Kind regards," it signed off, casually, as if this confirmation wasn't going to shatter thousands of Muslim chocolate-lovers' illusions.

Don't worry, in some countries (like here in the UAE), the company has created halal-friendly versions of its sweet.

"Where we have Halal-certified products, this is indicated on the product packaging," the account added.

But, back to the UK, there was a mini Twitter storm:

While you can rest assured that everything sold in standard supermarket shelves, cinemas, cafes, etc in the UAE is halal, when travelling, there are a few other snacks and ingredients that you should avoid. Be careful of the below, unless it says it's halal (or suitable for vegetarians/vegans) on the packet:

Skittles (some flavours)


Pop Tarts

Snack cakes (like Twinkies)



Red-dye sweets

Chewing gum

Vanilla extract


Read more:

Halal: it's not just what you eat

Halal dumplings? Elusive in London or Sydney, but easy to find in Abu Dhabi

From the Maldives to Malaysia: 5 halal-friendly island retreats