Sarah Geronimo, Kathryn Bernardo tie for PMPC Star Awards best actress

The PMPC Star Awards recognises the best films and filmmakers of the past year in the Philippines

Sarah Geronimo was among the big winners at last night’s Philippine Movie Press Club (PMPC) Star Awards, held at the Newport Performing Arts Theatre in Resorts World Manila last night.

Geronimo shared the Best Actress award with Kathryn Bernardo. Geronimo was recognized for her performance in the Filipino adaptation of the Korean film Miss Granny, while Bernardo bagged the award for her role in The Hows of Us.

Ogie Alcasid, meanwhile, bagged the best actor award for his performance in the movie Kuya Wes, which was an entry in the 14th Cinemalaya Independent Film Festival.

Cherie Gil won the best supporting actress award for Citizen Jake, which also picked up the prize for Best Indie Film, while Arjo Atayde won best supporting award for his role in Buybust.

Rainbow’s Sunset director Joel Lamangan picked up the Best Director award.

Here are the other winners at the 34th PMPC Star Awards for Movies:

New Movie Actor of the Year: Ryle Santiago (Bakwit Boys) and Danzel Fernandez (Otlum)

New Movie Actress of the Year: Sanya Lopez (Wild and Free)

Movie Child Performer of the Year: Ken Ken Nuyad (Liway)

Indie Movie Screenwriter of the Year: Mike de Leon, Atom Araullo and Noel Pascual (Citizen Jake)

Movie Editor of the Year: Jay Halili (Buybust)

Movie Musical Scorer of the Year: Len Calvo (Miss Granny)

Movie Original Theme Song of the Year: "Sa'yo Na" from Rainbow's Sunset.

Nora Aunor Ulirang Artista Lifetime Achievement Award: Dante Rivero

Ulirang Alagad ng Pelikula sa Likod ng Kamera: Laurice Guillen

Outstanding Pillars of PMPC: Ethel Ramos, Ronald Constantino, Letty Celi, Veronica Samio

Movie Supporting Actor of the Year: Arjo Atayde (Buybust)

Movie Supporting Actress of the Year: Cherie Gil (Citizen Jake)

Movie Love Team of the Year: Daniel Padilla and Kathryn Bernardo

Movie Director of the Year: Joel Lamangan (Rainbow's Sunset)

Movie Actor of the Year: Ogie Alcasid (Kuya Wes)

Movie Actress of the Year: Kathryn Bernardo (The Hows of Us) and Sarah Geronimo (Miss Granny)

Indie Movie of the Year: Citizen Jake

Movie of the Year: Rainbow's Sunset

Published: June 3, 2019 05:12 PM


Editor's Picks
Sign up to:

* Please select one