Around the UAE: Asianet Premier League T20 winners; National golf team wins medal


Aamir Hyatt and Emaad shared four wickets each to send UOWD crashing to 74 all out in reply to Danube Lion’s 180 for seven in the Asianet Premier League Twenty20 competition at The Sevens grounds in Dubai. In the other games, Interface emerged winners over Rig Power Technical Construction by seven wickets and Red Flowers Tourism defeated City Target by 33 runs. In the capital, Abu Dhabi Airport Company completed their group games undefeated, booking their place in the knockout round of the UBL Twenty20 Cup. Shadaqat Shah blasted 90 not out from 58 balls for ADAC to put up 165 for six as Etihad Airways were skittled out for 82 at the Zayed Cricket Stadium.


The UAE national team won a bronze medal at the 2016 GCC Golf Championship in Qatar at the weekend while Khalid Yousef took bronze in the individual category. With the best three scores from a team of four players, over a total of four rounds, taken into account, the UAE finished with a team score of 917 at Doha Golf Club. Qatar came first with 889, with Bahrain second on 910.

Jumeirah College take home crown

Jumeirah College won the recently concluded Inter-Schools League, also known as the Dubai Schools League, after the grand final at Arabian Ranches Golf Club. The league started in 2010 with only eight players and two schools and now has over 60 different players representing 13 schools. Jumeirah English Speaking School came second with Dubai College third.

University sport

New York University Abu Dhabi won the women’s football and basketball finals to complete a superb double in the Abu Dhabi Inter-University Sports League. They got the better of UAE University 5-0 in football and overcame the same opponent in the basketball final 22-9. The UAE University bagged the women’s volleyball title after a 3-0 result over Petroleum Institute. NYUAD took the bronze medal defeating Abu Dhabi University 2-1 in the play-off for third. Tonight, the men’s basketball team play Masdar Institute and the footballers takes on Al Ain Science in the two finals.


CG Racing Pro edged out Batelco Racing in the opening round of the Kartdrome Endurance Championships after 12 hours of racing.

The winning team made up of David Terrien, Alban Varutti and Rami Azzam won by the narrowest of margins in the final minutes, to bag maximum points in the first of four championship rounds. The Round 2 of the championship – the 600 laps race – takes place on April 30.