EU imposes sanctions on four new Syria government ministers

Asset freezes and travel bans in Europe were imposed for their role in 'repression' of Syrian people

The European Union imposed sanctions on four ministers recently appointed to the Syrian government over their role in the continued "repression" of civilians in the war-torn country.

Asset freezes and travel bans in Europe were announced by the EU Council on Monday.

The four people targeted are Amr Salem, the Minister of Internal Trade, Boutros Al Hallaq, Minister of Information, Mohammad Seifeddine, Minister of Labour and Social Affairs, and Diala Barakat, Minister of State.

The four ministers were accused of sharing “responsibility for the Syrian regime’s violent repression of the civilian population,” the EU said.

The new sanctions bring the number of people in Syria targeted by EU measures to 287.

A further 70 “entities,” including organisations, banks and companies, are also on the blacklist, typically for benefiting from their ties with the regime.

The EU first started imposing the sanctions in 2011. The measures also include a ban on oil imports, investment restrictions, a freeze on central bank assets held in the EU, and export limits on equipment and technology that could be used to crack down on civilians or monitoring their phones and internet.

Updated: November 15th 2021, 3:49 PM