Ministry of Foreign Affairs says drivers from these 13 countries can now swap their licence for a UAE one

Move means residents no longer need to re-sit their test

Residents of thirteen countries can now swap their drivers licences to a UAE one. Pawan Singh / The National
Powered by automated translation

More than a dozen countries have been selected to receive a UAE driving licence in exchange for theirs, according to the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation.

A listed posted by the Ministry on its website included 13 countries that would be able to benefit from the swap.

These include:

1. Austria

2. Slovakia

3. Luxembourg

4. China

5. Portugal

6. Finland

7. Romania

8. Denmark

9. Serbia

10. Poland

11. Netherlands

12. Latvia

13. Lithuania

In Dubai, they will require to present a valid original driving licence, a valid residence visa issued by Dubai, a completed form of replacement of licence and a no objection letter from their sponsor to replace their licence as well as an optometry form accredited by the health authority in the emirate.

Other countries able to swap their driving licence in the UAE include:

1. The United Kingdom

2. The United States

3. France

4. Japan

5. Germany

6. Italy

7. Belgium

8. The Netherlands

9. Switzerland

10. Denmark

11. Greece

12. Spain

13. Sweden

14. Ireland

15. Norway

16. Turkey

17. Canada

18. Poland

19. South Korea

20. Finland

21. South Africa

22. Australia

23. Romania

24. New Zealand

25. Singapore

26. Hong Kong

27. Austria

28. Slovakia

29. Luxembourg

30. Serbia

However, according to the Roads and Transport Authority, citizens that can exchange their driving licences include those from:

1. Australia

2. Austria

3. Bahrain

4. Belgium

5. Canada

6. Denmark

7. Finland

8. France

9. Germany

10. Greece

11. Ireland

12. Italy

13. Japan

14. South Korea

15. Kuwait

16. The Netherlands

17. New Zealand

18. Norway

19. Oman

20. Poland

21. Portugal

22. Qatar

23. Romania

24. Saudi Arabia

25. South Africa

26. Spain

27. Sweden

28. Switzerland

29. Turkey

30. The United Kingdom

31. The United States

Tourists from the mentioned nationalities, however, cannot benefit from any exchange, renewal or replacement with their driving licence as they would require a residency visa and Emirates Identity card, which only UAE residents are able to provide.

Residents from other nationalities will have to undergo regular driving tests and classes to be able to acquire a local driving licence.