Dubai's RTA changes names of five metro stations

Work on renaming the metro stations will start on Wednesday

Powered by automated translation

Five popular metro stations in Dubai have been renamed, it was announced on Tuesday.

Dubai’s Roads and Transport Authority has renamed Sharaf DG to AlFahidi; First Abu Dhabi Bank to Umm Al Sheef Station; Noor Bank to Al Safa; Damac to Dubai Marina; and Nakheel to Al Khail.

Hasan Al Mutawa, director of rail operation at the RTA’s Rail Agency, said the work to rename the five stations will start on November 25, 2020 and will continue until the first week of February 2021.

The renaming process involves updating names on the external signs and the smart and e-systems of the public transport network.

“The metro stations naming rights initiative offers an investment opportunity to private firms and organisations in various trading, financial and service sectors in the UAE," said Abdul Mohsen Ibrahim Younes, CEO of Rail Agency.

RTA launched the Dubai Metro stations naming rights initiative in 2009 and was the first of its kind in the world.

The construction theme for the Dubai Metro stations is the four elements of nature: fire, water, air and earth.

Mashreq Station is an elevated station and can accommodate up to 14,244 riders during rush hours, with a daily capacity of 256,392 people.

Jebel Ali Station, a transfer stop between the Red Line and Route 2020, can accommodate 320,000 passengers daily.

Gold Souq Station is an underground station in the old part of the city and can handle 475,488 people every day.