Jordan Henderson, Mohamed Salah, Cristiano Ronaldo and Frank Lampard: FWA Player of the Year winners – in pictures

Liverpool captain joins esteemed list of players given the prestigious award by the UK's Football Writers' Association

Fresh from helping Liverpool win their first league title in 30 years, captain Jordan Henderson has just picked up another prestigious gong.

The Football Writers' Association Player of the Year award has been handed out by British journalists since 1948, when Blackpool and England player Stanley Matthews was the inaugural winner.

Since then, the great and good playing in England's top-flight have received the honour – from the likes of Bobby Charlton, George Best, Kevin Keegan and Gary Lineker, through to Eric Cantona, Wayne Rooney, Cristiano Ronaldo and Mohamed Salah – with England midfielder Henderson the latest recipient.

In the above gallery, we have listed all the winners from the Premier League era, showing their appearances and goals from that season.

To move on to the next image, click on the arrows, or if using a mobile device, simply swipe.