Dubai Turf defending champion Solow will miss Dubai World Cup, trainer Freddy Head says

The six-year-old won the nine-furlong event last year and had been on course to defend his title until suffering a minor mishap on the gallops on Wednesday morning, writes Geoffrey Riddle.

Solow will not defend his crown in the Dubai Turf at the Dubai World Cup at Meydan Racecourse after he failed to recover from a minor gallops mishap.

Solow put in his final piece of work in Chantilly on Wednesday, but knocked his leg in the process.

Following the workout Head believed that a minor inflammation would pose no serious problems but on Thursday morning the swelling remained.

Read more: Dubai World Cup schedule and ticket information

Solow was set to fly out to Dubai on Friday ahead of next Saturday’s US$30 million (Dh110.1m) Dubai World Cup meeting.

"He's not coming," Head told The National. "He's had a setback. It is not serious.

“I won’t take the risk with him.

“He has a swelling on his leg and it is just not right this morning.

“There is no point risking his career as he is a only a six-year-old gelding and there are plenty of opportunities to run. He needs to be 100 per cent to run in something like the Dubai Turf.”

Solow is likely to have recovered fully by next week and Head is eyeing the Group 1 Prix d’Isapahan in May, which the son of Singspiel won last year.

The Dubai Racing Club released the final likely fields only on Wednesday, and Solow was to face a twin-pronged attack from Godolphin. Charlie Appleby’s Tryster, who has twice come from last to first at Meydan this season, appeared to be his most potent rival, while Saeed Bin Suroor’s Very Special is also entered.

South Africa is represented by the Mike De Kock duo of Forries Waltz and Ertijaal, while Paul Lafferty’s Harry’s Son has also made the cut.

Japan’s Real Steel, America’s Flamboyant, and British trio of Euro Charline, Gabrial and The Corsican add international flavour.

Domestic trainers Ali Rashid Al ARaihe, Satish Seemar and Doug Watson are set to saddle respectively Ghaamer, Farrier and Basateen.

Follow us on Twitter @NatSportUAE

Like us on Facebook at