IPL 2019: David Warner, Virat Kohli and MS Dhoni make team of the season

Chitrabhanu Kadalayil has selected his best XI from this season's matches

Powered by automated translation

The Indian Premier League may have attracted some controversy this season, like it does every season, yet it has thrown up some fascinating stories worth telling and retelling.

David Warner of Sunrisers Hyderabad and Mumbai Indians' Hardik Pandya returned to form, letting their performances talk for themselves after the duo were punished for ball-tampering and making sexist remarks, respectively, while on national duty. So was the case of Kings XI Punjab opener Lokesh Rahul, who struggled with the bat throughout the past season before he, too, faced punitive action for his comparatively less distasteful remarks about women in the show he appeared with Pandya.

The season will also be remembered for Imran Tahir's sensational form with the ball - and for some - his remarkable, made-for-television celebrations. Veteran MS Dhoni continued to prove his relevance at this level, while Kagiso Rabada showed the world why he is the world's best fast bowler.

Also, who can forget the Ashes bromance between Warner and opening partner Jonny Bairstow which bloomed for much of the season.

All these players, and more, have made it to our IPL team of 2019.

There are admittedly some glaring omissions, including those of Parthiv Patel, Quinton de Kock and Jos Buttler - wicketkeeper-batsmen. But Dhoni's place in the side is also down to his leadership skills.

To find out who else did and why, browse through the photo gallery above. To move on to the next position, click the arrows on the photo, or if using a mobile device simply swipe left/right.