Ashes 2019: England v Australia fixtures, dates and how to watch on TV in the UAE

Here is the lowdown on the world's oldest Test series, which gets under way on August 1 in Birmingham

Cricket - Ashes test match - Australia v England - SCG, Sydney, Australia, January 8, 2018. Australia's captain Steve Smith holds a replica Ashes urn next to team mates after they won the fifth Ashes cricket test match and the series 4-0.    REUTERS/David Gray
Powered by automated translation

What: The Ashes

This is a series of Test matches played between England and Australia. It is usually held every two years, with the two countries taking turns to host it. It normally comprises at least five, sometimes six, five-day matches. It has been held 70 times since England hosted the first series – this one being a one-off match – in 1882.

When: August-September

The first of five Tests to be held in this year's edition will get under way on August 1 at Edgbaston, Birmingham. The last day of the final Test is scheduled to be held on September 16 at the Oval, London.

Where: England

The series will be held in five stadiums across four cities: Edgbaston (Birmingham), Lord's (London), Headingley (Leeds), Old Trafford (Manchester) and the Oval (London).


13 weird and wonderful trophies in sport


A brief history:

England and Australia are cricket's traditional rivals. They have played 346 Tests against each other since 1877, with England winning 108 times and Australia 144. They have drawn on 94 occasions.

Although they played their first ever Test at Melbourne in March 1877, the Ashes series kicked off with a solitary Test at the Oval in London in December 1882.

After England's defeat in that game, a mock obituary appeared in the Sporting Times newspaper declaring the death of English cricket. "The body will be cremated and the ashes taken to Australia," the obit read, inspiring captain Ivo Bligh to make the pledge to bring the "Ashes" home from Australia after the return series.

While Australia have won more Tests than England, the series head-to-head is much closer, at 33-32 to Australia, with five series having been drawn.

However, it should be noted that while Australia are holders of the urn – by virtue of having won it at home in 2017 – England have won five of the last eight series and not lost at home since 2001.

LONDON, ENGLAND - JULY 22: England captain Joe Root holds a replica Ashes urn as he poses for a portrait on July 22, 2019 in London, England. (Photo by Gareth Copley/Getty Images)
England captain Joe Root holds a replica of the Ashes urn as he poses for a portrait on Monday in London. Gareth Copley / Getty Images


England: Joe Root

Australia: Tim Paine


England: Joe Root, Moeen Ali, James Anderson, Jofra Archer, Jonny Bairstow (wk), Stuart Broad, Rory Burns, Jos Buttler (wk), Sam Curran, Joe Denly, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, Olly Stone, Chris Woakes.

Australia: Tim Paine, Cameron Bancroft, Patrick Cummins, Marcus Harris, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Michael Neser, James Pattinson, Peter Siddle, Steven Smith, Mitchell Starc, Matthew Wade, David Warner.

The schedule (all UAE times):

1st Test: August 1-5, 2pm start, Edgbaston

2nd Test: August 14-18, 2pm start, Lord's

3rd Test: August 22-26, 2pm start, Headingley

4th Test: September 4-8, 2pm start, Old Trafford

5th Test: September 12-16, 2pm start, the Oval

BIRMINGHAM, ENGLAND - JULY 28: Tim Paine of Australia poses during the Australia Ashes Squad Portrait Session on July 28, 2019 in Birmingham, England. (Photo by Ryan Pierse/Getty Images)
Wicketkeeper-batsman Tim Paine will lead Australia during the 2019 Ashes series. Ryan Pierse / Getty Images

How can I watch on TV in the UAE?

All the matches will be shown on BeIN Sports.