Gremio win Copa Libertadores to complete Fifa Club World Cup UAE 2017 line-up

After leading the tie 1-0 after the first leg, the Brazilian club completed the job with a 2-1 in the return fixture.

Gremio celebrate with the Libertadores Cup after beating Lanus in the final on Wednesday. David Fernandez / EPA
Gremio celebrate with the Libertadores Cup after beating Lanus in the final on Wednesday. David Fernandez / EPA

Gremio won the Copa Libertadores on Wednesday after a 2-1 win over Argentine side Lanus gave the Brazilian team a 3-1 aggregate victory and their third Libertadores title.

Fernandinho got Gremio's first goal after 26 minutes when he stole possession in his own half before running 40 yards and hammering the ball home from just inside the penalty box.

Luan doubled their lead four minutes before half time when he drifted past three defenders on the edge of the box and lifted a delightful chip over the helpless keeper.

Read more:

Jose Sand pulled one back for Lanus from the penalty spot after 71 minutes.

Gremio, who also won the title in 1983 and 1995, had beaten the Argentine side 1-0 at home last week in Porto Alegre.

The win was a personal triumph for Gremio manager Renato Gaucho, who won the title with the club in 1983 and became the first Brazilian to lift the trophy as both a player and manager.

Attacking midfielder Luan was named the tournament's Best Player.

"We are going to celebrate until Saturday, Sunday," goalkeeper Marcelo Grohe said in a televised interview in front of thousands of ecstatic visiting fans.

"This is exciting, this is what these supporters deserve."

Gremio's next assignment as South American champions will be next month in the UAE when they compete in the Fifa Club World Cup UAE 2017.

The Club World Cup is a seven-team tournament that pits against one another the champions of the various confederations, together with a representative from the host country.

Uefa Champions League winners, and reigning Club World Cup holders, Real Madrid headline the tournament and are joined in the UAE by African champions Wydad Casablanca, winners of the Asian Champions League, Urawa Red Diamonds, Oceania champions Auckland City, and Central American champions Pachuca.

Completing the line-up are the winners of the UAE's Arabian Gulf League, Al Jazira.

Updated: December 3, 2017 05:28 PM


Editor's Picks
Sign up to:

* Please select one