Arabian Gulf League awards: Ali Mabkhout up against Omar Abdulrahman and Ahmed Khalil for best Emirati player

Powered by automated translation

On Sunday, the Pro League Committee (PLC) announced its finalists for next month’s 2016/17 Arabian Gulf League awards. The candidates were decided by club managers, captains, sports media and fans, with the top three confirmed for the final shortlist. The awards take place in Abu Dhabi on May 15.

Jumeirah Etihad Towers will stage the awards on May 15, with the ceremony beginning at 7.30pm. There, the team of the season (a combined XI) and the best professional club will also be announced, with the top goalscorers for both the AGL and the Under 21 league honoured as well.


Best Emirati:

Ali Mabkhout (Al Jazira, pictured, right)

Omar Abdulrahman (Al Ain)

Ahmed Khalil (Al Ahli)


Best foreign player:

Makhete Diop (Al Ahli, pictured)

Fabio de Lima (Al Wasl)

Caio Canedo (Al Wasl)


Best young player:

Khalfan Mubarak (Al Jazira, pictured, left)

Jassim Yaqoub (Al Nasr)

Mohammed Al Akberi (Al Wahda)


Best manager:

Henk ten Cate (Al Jazira, pictured)

Cosmin Olaroiu (Al Ahli)

Rodolfo Arruabarrena (Al Wasl)


Best goalkeeper:

Majed Naser (Al Ahli, pictured)

Ali Khaseif (Al Jazira)

Khalid Essa (Al Ain)

Follow us on Twitter @NatSportUAE

Like us on Facebook at