UK removed from Abu Dhabi Green List: mandatory quarantine required for travellers from Britain

The latest update also adds Malta to the list of destinations from which travellers can visit the UAE capital quarantine-free

Powered by automated translation

Abu Dhabi has removed the UK from its Green List, with travellers from Britain now required to quarantine on arrival in the UAE capital.

The list, which contains a number of territories from which travellers can fly to Abu Dhabi without having to quarantine upon arrival, was updated on Sunday, June 13, adding one new destination and removing two.

UK removed from Abu Dhabi Green List

UK removed from Abu Dhabi Green List

Before new restrictions set to come into force on Thursday, July 1, which will remove Covid-19 quarantine restrictions for most international travellers, the recent update added Malta to the list of destinations from which visitors will not have to quarantine.

However, the UK, which has been on the Abu Dhabi Green List since April, was removed on Sunday. Tajikistan, which has also been on the Green List since April, was also removed. On Wednesday, June 16, Russia was also removed from the list.


A press representative for the Department of Culture and Tourism – Abu Dhabi confirmed to The National that the website update is correct.

The UAE is currently red-listed by UK authorities, meaning travellers flying to the country from Dubai or Abu Dhabi must quarantine in a hotel.

Removing the UK from the Abu Dhabi Green List has not affected flights between the destinations, an Etihad spokesperson told The National.

"Etihad Airways confirms there are no current changes to the Etihad network as a result of the UAE’s green list changes, but continues to monitor passenger and cargo demand."

Malta is open to UAE travellers

Travellers from Malta will no longer need to self-isolate upon arrival in Abu Dhabi. Magdalena Smolnicka / Unsplash
Travellers from Malta will no longer need to self-isolate upon arrival in Abu Dhabi. Magdalena Smolnicka / Unsplash

Malta, the only destination to be added to the Green List in the latest update, is open to UAE travellers.

The Mediterranean island is known for its rich history, year-round sunshine, beautiful coastlines and culinary feasts. The country has reopened to travellers with a traffic light system.

The UAE is listed as amber by Malta, meaning travellers need to have a negative PCR test result taken no more than 72 hours before landing in the country. Children under 5 are exempt.

There are currently no direct flights from the UAE to Malta, but Emirates said on Thursday that it would resume flights to the country via Larnaca in July.

All of the destinations on the Abu Dhabi Green List:









Hong Kong (SAR)









New Zealand


Saudi Arabia


South Korea



Taiwan, Province of China



The list now has 27 countries and destinations from which travellers can fly to the UAE without the need to self-isolate. Passengers arriving from these destinations need only to undergo PCR testing on arrival at Abu Dhabi Airport.

Anyone visiting from a country not on the Green List must quarantine as part of Abu Dhabi's Covid-19 regulations. Vaccinated travellers need to quarantine for five days, while other travellers must self-isolate for 10 days.

These restrictions only exist for travellers flying into and staying in Abu Dhabi. In Dubai, there are no quarantine restrictions in place.


Quarantine-free travel from Dubai this summer


Those flying to the UAE capital can also travel quarantine-free from countries included in safe travel corridors.

Fully vaccinated people who received their second dose of a Covid-19 jab at least 28 days before travelling do not need to quarantine when going between Abu Dhabi and Bahrain, Greece, Serbia and the Seychelles.