Sheikh Khalifa renames Abu Dhabi regions

The President, Sheikh Khalifa, in his capacity as Ruler of Abu Dhabi, has renamed Eastern and Western regions.

Powered by automated translation

ABU DHABI // The President, Sheikh Khalifa, has renamed the Eastern and Western regions of Abu Dhabi emirate.

Their new names will be Al Ain Region and Al Dhafra Region, respectively, according to a law issued by Sheikh Khalifa in his capacity as Ruler of Abu Dhabi.

Al Ain Region has extensive agricultural developments and expansive sand dunes. It includes the oasis city of Al Ain as well as Sweihan, Nahel, Al Hayer and Remah.

Al Dhafra Region encompasses two thirds of Abu Dhabi emirate, with a population about 202,000 spread over 33,700 square kilometres.

It includes Madinat Zayed, Ruwais, Ghayathi, Liwa, Marfa, Dalma Island and Sila. Sir Bani Yas Island, the archaeological and conservation destination, is also part of Al Dhafra Region.