Key facts about the holy Quran

The Quran is divided into 114 chapters, or "Surah."

The Prophet Mohammed's miracle is the holy Quran.

There, the words of Allah are written in 114 surah.

The chapters are subsequently divided into 30 ajza, or sections, which in turn are divided into 60 ahzab, or units.

The Quran was revealed and taught by The Messenger in seven types of qeraat (readings). At the time, they were the most dominant dialects in spoken Arabic.

Many years after the Quran was made into a book, Othman bin Affan's copy of it had the Arabic letters dotted. Diacritics such as tashkeel or formations were added, including harakat motions or vowel marks, as well as various tone and pronunciation grids.

There are different prints of the mushaf, with various calligraphic and symbolic designs. The Quran has been translated into every language, including Braille for the blind.

The Sheikh Maktoum bin Rashid Al Maktoum print, commissioned in 1997, of different sizes, can be found in every mosque in the UAE and across the Muslim world.

There are some sects in Islam that believe the fourth Caliph, Ali, compiled a Quran into a mushaf as well, but it was not made for general use.

Published: August 14, 2011 04:00 AM