Sri Lanka post daunting chase for Proteas

Tillakaratne Dilshan's century spearheads Sri Lanka to 319-8 in the opening match of the Champions Trophy.

Powered by automated translation

CENTURION // Tillakaratne Dilshan scored his third one-day international century to spearhead Sri Lanka to 319-8 against South Africa in the opening match of the Champions Trophy. Dilshan hit 106 which included 16 boundaries and one six in his 92-ball innings. After Steyn had trapped Sanath Jayasuriya lbw for 10 with the total on 16, Dilshan and the Sri Lanka captain Kumar Sangakkara shared a 158-run partnership.

Sangakkara was caught and bowled for 54 by the part-time spinner JP Duminy to make it 174-2 in the 28th over. Dilshan was out to Steyn a few balls later, caught at third man after cutting a short delivery outside off stump. Mahela Jayawardene and Thilan Samaraweera then restored Sri Lanka's momentum with a partnership of 116 for the fourth wicket. Jayawardene fell for 77 off the bowling of Wayne Parnell. On the next delivery, Samaraweera top-edged Parnell to third man to be dismissed for 37 off 47 balls.

The rest of the innings tailed off as three wickets fell in the final seven balls of the innings. The South African bowlers battled, with Steyn's 3-47 the best return. Parnell also took three wickets, but at a cost of 79 runs. Roelof van der Merwe was the most economical, his spinners went for just 42 runs in 10 overs as Sri Lanka were as ever rampant with the bat. The South Africa captain Graeme Smith won the toss and decided to bowl first in the opening Champions Trophy match against Sri Lanka today. Both teams name two front line spinners, Johan Botha and Roelof van der Merwe for South Africa and Muttiah Muralitharan and Ajantha Mendis for Sri Lanka. South Africa are without experienced opening batsman Herschelle Gibbs and have called up Hashim Amla in his place.

South Africa: Graeme Smith, Hashim Amla, Jacques Kallis, AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, Mark Boucher, Albie Morkel, Roelof van der Merwe, Johan Botha, Wayne Parnell, Dale Steyn. Sri Lanka: Sanath Jayasuriya, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardene, Thilina Kandamby, Thilan Samaraweera, Angelo Mathews, Nuwan Kulasekara, Muttiah Muralitharan, Lasith Malinga, Ajantha Mendis. *Agencies