Runs-leader David Warner and vintage Lasith Malinga lead The National’s IPL Team of the Season

Powered by automated translation

Osman Samiuddin names his team of the eighth edition of the Indian Premier League, won by Lasith Malinga's Mumbai Indians.

Follow us on Twitter @NatSportUAE

David Warner (Sunrisers Hyderabad)

The Australian not only finished as the league’s leading run-scorer (before the final), as captain he was instrumental in Hyderabad enjoying a good third season. It was much-needed after the troubles of 2014.

Ajinkya Rahane (Rajasthan Royals)

An outstanding season for a batsman who has emerged, over the last six months, as the best, most all-round young Indian batsman behind Virat Kohli. Arguably had as big an impact on Rajasthan’s season as any of their Australian imports.

AB de Villiers (Royal Challengers Bangalore)

With that line-up, not making the final is bound to be a disappointment for Bangalore. But it was through no lack of effort from the game’s premier batsman. Another outstanding show, full of the verve, innovation and new batting orthodoxy we expect from him.

Virat Kohli (Royal Challengers Bangalore)

Finished with just eight runs (505) less than De Villiers. The most impressive aspect of Kohli this season has probably been his leadership. He has batted brilliantly at times, of course, but he has led his side with the bat and, for India, that bodes especially well.

JP Duminy (Delhi Daredevils)

Even losing teams have their little heroes and in Duminy, Delhi had theirs. He did not fire up the skies around him, but went about his job with a consistency his teammates could not quite replicate.

MS Dhoni (Chennai Super Kings)

His batting has lost some lustre, though he has continued making handy runs. He has also led his side to the final yet again. Any XI needs a wicketkeeper, so Dhoni sneaks in on a combination of these factors.

Andre Russell (Kolkata Knight Riders)

This season was like an extended coming of age party for Russell. He has always been gifted, but this season he went ballistic. With the bat he made over 300 runs, with a strike rate of 192.89. He bowled with pace too, taking 14 wickets.

Dwayne Bravo (Chennai Super Kings)

It has been a good season for all-rounders. Few, if any, have been as good as Bravo though. He has scored useful runs, taken outrageous catches in the field and was, before the final, the leading wicket-taker.

Mitchell Starc (Royal Challengers Bangalore)

A shoe-in really. On current form he would walk into any team in the world in the two limited-overs formats and easily a few Test sides, too. He has given the yorker a new lease of life, establishing again its place in cricket.

Ashish Nehra (Chennai Super Kings)

Who says you cannot be a fast bowler at 36? Nehra has been one of the joys of the season, using all his nous and not inconsiderable pace to give Chennai what they were so lacking last season.

Lasith Malinga (Mumbai Indians)

One spot should have gone to a spinner ideally, but this has been a fallow season for them. And to imagine a best XI without a single Mumbai Indians players is unfathomable. Malinga has been a genius in the second half of the league: 13 wickets in the last seven games coincided with Mumbai winning six of those seven.