ERA announces 2018/19 horse racing season will extend beyond Dubai World Cup

A record 67 meetings will take place at tracks at Meydan, Jebel Ali, Abu Dhabi, Al Ain and Sharjah

Thunder Snow and jockey Christophe Soumillon won the Dubai World Cup for Godolphin. Pawan Singh / The National
Powered by automated translation

The Emirates Racing Authority (ERA) on Tuesday announced a record 67 meetings, and for the first time a schedule beyond the Dubai World Cup, meaning the 2018/2019 season will conclude in mid-April.

Meydan and Al Ain racecourses will stage two meetings each in April after the Dubai World Cup on March 30, 2019.

The new season that gets under way this October with five meetings more than last season, staged across five race tracks – Meydan, Jebel Ali, Abu Dhabi, Al Ain and Sharjah.

The schedule was approved by the chairman of the ERA, Sheikh Mansour bin Zayed, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Presidential Affairs.

The first meet of the 2018/19 season will be held at Jebel Ali Racecourse on Friday, October 26. The Dubai venue popularly known as the “Garden Party” will stage 11 meetings in all.

Meydan and Abu Dhabi Equestrian Clun will kick off their seasons the following week on Thursday, November 1, and Saturday, November 3, respectively.

Meydan, the headquarters of racing in Dubai, will host 23 meetings, including 12 for the domestic season, 10 for the Dubai World Cup Carnival and the Dubai World Cup.

Abu Dhabi will have hold 15 meetings. Sharjah will stage the first of its six-meet season on Saturday, November 10, while Al Ain’s season starts on Thursday, November 15, adding two race meets in April for a total of 12.


Read more:

Dubai World Cup win 'has not sunk in' for jockey Christophe Soumillon



Jebel Ali (11 meetings): October 26; November 16, 30; December 14, 28; January 11, 25; February 8, 22, March 8, 22.

Meydan (12 domestic meetings, 10 Dubai World Cup Carnival (DWCC) meetings, and Dubai World Cup: Total 23): November 1, 8, 22; December 6, 20; January 3-DWCC, 5, 10-DWCC, 17-DWCC, 19, 24-DWCC, 31-DWCC; February 2, 7-DWCC, 14-DWCC, 21-DWCC, 28-DWCC; March 2, 9-DWCC Super Saturday, 14, 30-DWC; April 5, 12.

Abu Dhabi (15 meetings): November 3, 9, 25; December 9, 16, 23; January 13, 20, 27; February 3, 10, 17; March 3, 10, 15.

Sharjah (6 meetings): November 10, 17; December 15, 29; February 16, 23.

Al Ain (12 meetings): November 15, 23; December 7, 21; January 4, 18; February 1, 15; March 1, 14; April 4, 11.