Kaymer wins in Abu Dhabi

Martin Kaymer birdies the final hole to win the Abu Dhabi Championship ahead of Ian Poulter and Rory McIlroy.

ABU DHABI // Martin Kaymer claimed his second Abu Dhabi Championship following some splendid golf that saw him hold on to the morning lead and hold off the resolute Lee Poulter. Kaymer, who won on the National Course in 2008, started the day atop the leaderboard and shot a six-under par round of 66, taking the lion's share of the ?1.5 million (Dh7.785m) with a final score of 21-under. Poulter, who also shot six-under par, was equal throughout the majority of the round and as he walked up the final stretch on the 18th tied for first, he looked destined to push Kaymer to a play-off. But, needing a birdie to ensure the tournament would continue, the 33-year-old missed, allowing Kaymer the opportunity to hold his nerve, putt for birdie and become only the second player in history to win in the UAE capital twice. Both players, as well as Rory McIlroy who took third finishing on 19-under, looked determined to succeed in their first tournament of the season. Kaymer and Poulter birdied the first two holes, before the Englishman made it a hat-trick with a third birdie on the par-4 third. Kaymer regained his one-stroke lead at the eighth, but Poulter putted for consecutive birdies again on the 11th and 12th. On the 14th, the German used his long-drive to restore parity and as they approached the 18th, it could have gone either way, but Poulter's miscued putt on the last took the pressure slightly off Kaymer and the 25-year-old sealed his fifth Tour title. Irish Open champion Shane Lowry posted his best finish on the European Tour since turning professional with his bogey-free 67 securing fourth at 17 under. South Africa's Louis Oosthuizen, who finished tied second with Kaymer 12 months ago, dropped his only shot of a final round 66 at the last to finish alone in fifth at 16 under. Argentina's Ariel Canete posted the best final round as an eight-under-par 64 secured sixth alongside Wales' Rhys Davies (67), with the Danish duo Anders Hansen (67) and Soren Hansen (67) rounding out the top 10 tied for eighth six shots adrift.