Premier League season is set to restart on June 17

Aston Villa v Sheffield United and Manchester City v Arsenal will be the opening matches but the plans are subject to government approval

Beta V.1.0 - Powered by automated translation

Premier League clubs have agreed that the season should restart on 17 June, subject to government approval.

The opening matches will be Aston Villa v Sheffield United and Manchester City v Arsenal.

Those two games will take all teams to 29 matches played. The remaining 90 games will then continue from the following weekend of June 19-21.

"The Premier League and our clubs are proud to have incredibly passionate and loyal supporters," Premier League chief executive Richard Masters said.

"It is important to ensure as many people as possible can watch the matches at home."

All matches will take place behind closed doors and will be broadcast live in the UK on Sky Sports, BT Sport, BBC Sport or Amazon Prime.

On Wednesday, clubs voted unanimously to resume contact training as 'Project Restart' took another step forward.

After starting with small, socially-distanced training sessions, players and managers from the 20 top-flight clubs were briefed on proposals for the reintroduction of contact training on Tuesday.

The Premier League has been suspended since March 13 due to the ongoing coronavirus pandemic.

Four individuals connected to three clubs tested positive for coronavirus in the league's third round of testing, with 1,008 staff from Premier League clubs tested.

Liverpool were 25 points clear of 2019 champions Manchester City when the Premier league was shut down, on the verge of being crowned English champions for the first time in 30 years.

Bournemouth, Villa and Norwich City are in the relegation places.


Premier League back in training