England-based Dejageh and Ghoochannejad feature in Iran World Cup squad

Fulham's Ashkan Dejageh and Charlton's Reza Ghoochannejad will lead the Carlos Queiroz's Iranian side at the 2014 World Cup.

Two London-based players feature in Iran coach Carlos Queiroz’s preliminary 30-man squad for the World Cup.

Fulham midfielder Ashkan Dejageh and Charlton striker Reza Ghoochannejad are among 10 foreign-based players in the squad, which will be trimmed to 23 by June 2.

The Iranians have had a troubled build-up to the tournament and last month Queiroz started a training camp in South Africa with only 12 players.

The Portugese coach is also embroiled in a row with the Iran Football Federation about his players not having enough kit ahead of the tournament.

Queiroz’s squad are currently training in Austria.

Iran, playing in the World Cup finals for the fourth time after 1978, 1998 and 2006, have been drawn in Group F alongside Argentina, Nigeria and Bosnia-Hercegovina, and open their campaign against the Nigerians on June 16.


Goalkeepers: Daniel Davari (Eintracht Braunschweig), Rahman Ahmadi (Sepahan Isfahan), Alireza Haqiqi (Sporting da Covilha), Sosha Makani (Foolad), Ali Reza Biranvand (Naft Tehran)

Defenders: Hossein Mahini (Persepolis), Jalal Hosseini (Persepolis), Ehsan Hajsafi (Sepahan Isfahan), Amir Hossein Sadeqi (Esteghlal), Hashem Beykzadeh (Esteghlal), Khosrow Heidari (Esteghlal), Ahmad Alenemeh (Naft Tehran), Mohammad Reza Khanzadeh (Zob Ahan Isfahan), Pejman Montazeri (Umm Salal), Steven Beitashour (Vancouver Whitecaps)

Midfielders: Mehrdad Pouladi (Persepolis), Reza Haghighi (Persepolis), Andranik Teymourian (Esteghlal), Ghasem Hadadifar (Zob Ahan Isfahan), Bakhtiar Rahmani (Foolad), Javad Nekounam (Kuwait SC), Ashkan Dejagah (Fulham), Masoud Shojaei (UD Las Palmas)

Forwards: Mohammad Reza Khalatbari (Persepolis), Mehdi Sharifi (Sepahan Isfahan), Karim Ansarifard (Tractor Sazi), Reza Ghoochannejhad (Charlton Athletic), Alireza Jahanbakhsh (NEC), Sardar Azmoun (FC Rubin Kazan), Reza Norouzi (Naft Tehran)

Follow us on Twitter @SprtNationalUAE

Published: May 14, 2014 04:00 AM