Top 10 highest paid cricketers in IPL 2021

Salaries that the best players will make in a few weeks of T20 cricket

Powered by automated translation

The Indian Premier League is back after a five-month gap, which is great for cricket fans but also highlights the impact the pandemic has had on sports calendars.

Serial winners Mumbai Indians will defend the title they won in the UAE in Dubai in November, but this time in India after the tournament was shifted back home.

But wherever the tournament is held, one aspect remains constant – the best T20 players in the world at the best league in the world earning the highest salaries in the sport.

The tournament has become the final destination for many cricketers, who get paid fantastic sums of money for about two months of cricket. But who will get paid the most in the 2021 edition that begins on April 9? You can find them in the list below and the picture gallery above.

Top 10 highest paid cricketers in IPL 2021

1. Virat Kohli (Royal Challengers Bangalore). 170 million rupees ($2.4m)

2. Chris Morris (Rajasthan Royals). 162.5m rupees ($2.2m)

3. Pat Cummins (Kolkata Knight Riders). 155m rupees ($2.1m)

4. MS Dhoni (Chennai Super Kings). 150m rupees ($2.06m)

5. Rohit Sharma (Mumbai Indians). 150m rupees ($2.06m)

6. Rishabh Pant (Delhi Capitals). 150m rupees ($2.06m)

7. Kyle Jamieson (Royal Challengers Bangalore). 150m rupees ($2.06m)

8. Glenn Maxwell (Royal Challengers Bangalore). 142.5m rupees ($1.96m)

9. Jhye Richardson (Punjab Kings).140m rupees ($1.92m)

10. David Warner (Sunrisers Hyderabad). IPL salary: 125m rupees ($1.72m)

How much does Virat Kohli earn in the IPL?

Virat Kohli ($2.4m)

The Royal Challengers Bangalore captain has undertaken yet another squad revamp in the pursuit of that elusive IPL title. He is the highest paid cricketer in IPL, which is understandable given the star value that he brings to the tournament and the eyeballs he attracts.

Chris Morris ($2.2m)

The South African all-rounder was snapped up by Rajasthan Royals for the highest-ever bid received by any player during the auction earlier this year. He bowls at 145kph and hits big sixes, which added all those zeroes to his pay package.

Pat Cummins ($2.1m)

The Australian star bowler is yet another proof of the infatuation the league has with world-class seam-bowling all-rounders. Picked up 12 wickets in 14 games for Kolkata Knight Riders in the UAE in 2020.

MS Dhoni ($2.06m)

Dhoni and Chennai Super Kings are joined at the hip. The very identity of the franchise is built around the wicketkeeper batsman. Dhoni still earns the big bucks but at nearly 40 years of age, you wonder how long this will last.

Rohit Sharma ($2.06m)

The Mumbai Indians leader is not only the most successful IPL captain, he has built what is without doubt the best T20 outfit at any level in the world. With five IPL titles as captain under his belt, Rohit deserves every rupee he gets.

Rishabh Pant ($2.06m)

The Delhi Capitals wicketkeeper batsman proved his worth in the final last year by scoring an attacking fifty. He is in vintage form at the international level, so expect a lot of fireworks from him. Could take over as captain with Shreyas Iyer injured.

Kyle Jamieson ($2.06m)

The Kiwi all-rounder decimated India's batting line-up in red and white-ball matches during their tour Down Under in 2020. Was handed a bumper contract for his efforts but has struggled to come to grips with his price tag, failing big time in T20s against Australia.

Glenn Maxwell ($1.96m)

The Australian all-rounder is an enigma. He has been around since the start of IPL but has yet to establish himself. Has been in and out of the Australian team, but somehow still lands fat contracts.

Jhye Richardson ($1.92m)

The Australian quick had a superb start to his white-ball career in 2017 but shoulder injury kept him out of the 2019 World Cup. The moment he recovered, and topped the wicket-taking charts in the Big Bash League, he hit the IPL jackpot.

David Warner ($1.72m)

The Australian opener has proven his worth as a batsman and captain at Sunrisers Hyderabad, winning the 2016 title. The longest surviving 'foreign' captain the league.