Pakistan announce schedule for UAE series against Australia and New Zealand

After Asia Cup participation in the Emirates, Pakistan will remain in the country for two 'home' series

Pakistan's captain Sarfraz Ahmed (3rdL) celebrates with Faheem Ashraf during the second T20 cricket match between Sri Lanka and Pakistan at the Sheikh Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi on October 27, 2017. / AFP PHOTO / NEZAR BALOUT
Powered by automated translation

Pakistan have announced the dates for their two UAE-based series against New Zealand and Australia over the next three months.

Pakistan's spell in the UAE, which they have used as their home base for much of the past decade, will begin next month with participation in the Asia Cup. The Emirates stepped in to host the bi-annual tournament over ongoing tensions between original hosts India and Pakistan, who incidentally have been drawn in the same group.

After the Asia Cup, Pakistan will then host Australia for two Tests and three Twenty20 internationals from October 7-28.


Read more:

Asia Cup Qualifier: Dougie Brown says UAE have 'set the bar high'

Asia Cup Qualifier: Abdul Shakoor excited to take his chance in UAE side

Asia Cup 2018 Qualifier: All you need to know and the players to watch


This will be Australia's first Test series since the infamous ball-tampering row during the Cape Town match against South Africa in March.

That scandal resulted in a one-year ban from international cricket for the then-captain Steve Smith and vice-captain David Warner. Opener Cameron Bancroft received a nine-month ban.

Following the Australia series, Pakistan will host New Zealand in the UAE for three Twenty20 internationals, three one-day internationals and three Tests between October 31-December 7.

Pakistan have played their "home" matches in the UAE since terrorists attacked the bus of the visiting Sri Lankan team in March 2009.

Although Pakistan have hosted a few international matches between 2015-18, Australia and New Zealand refused to visit the country due to security fears.

Australia have not toured Pakistan since 1998 while New Zealand's last tour was in 2003.

Pakistan boast an impressive Test record since relocating their home series to the UAE in 2010. Defeat to Sri Lanka last October was the first time Pakistan had lost a Test series in the Emirates, winning five of their previous nine and drawing four.