Abu Dhabi, UAEWednesday 2 December 2020


IPL 2020: Dates, fixtures and locations for the playoffs

Winner of first qualifier between Mumbai Indians and Delhi Capitals will be first team to book place in final

The 2020 Indian Premier League (IPL) has entered the playoffs stage after the regular season was concluded on Tuesday evening.

Sunrisers Hyderabad were the last of the four teams to book their place in the playoffs after they thrashed defending champions Mumbai Indians by 10 wickets in Sharjah.

Given the playoff format of the IPL, which this year relocated to the UAE due to the coronavirus pandemic, table toppers Mumbai will face second-placed Delhi Capitals in the first qualifier with the winner progressing to the final.

Mumbai won both regular season games against Delhi, claiming a five-wicket win in Abu Dhabi on October 11 and a nine-wicket win in Dubai on October 31.

One day later, third-placed Hyderabad will take on Royal Challengers Bangalore, in fourth, in an eliminator. Both teams achieved a win apiece during the regular season, with Bangalore earning a 10-run win in Dubai in their first game, before Hyderabad produced a five-wicket victory in Sharjah last week.

The winner of that game will then play the loser of the first qualifier for a place in the final.

IPL 2020 standings

IPL playoff fixtures

Thursday, 6pm – Qualifier 1: Mumbai Indians v Delhi Capitals (Dubai International Cricket Stadium, Dubai)

Friday, 6pm – Eliminator: Sunrisers Hyderabad v Royal Challengers Bangalore (Zayed Cricket Stadium, Abu Dhabi)

Sunday Nov 8, 6pm – Qualifier 2: Mumbai/Delhi v Hyderabad/Bangalore (Zayed Cricket Stadium, Abu Dhabi)

Tuesday Nov 10, 6pm – Final: Dubai International Cricket Stadium, Dubai

Updated: November 4, 2020 10:53 AM

Sign up to our daily email