Asia Cup 2018 lowdown: teams, venues and everything else you need to know about the tournament in Dubai and Abu Dhabi

Hong Kong to take on likes of India and Pakistan after confirming their place in main event with victory over UAE in Asia Cup Qualifier final

Dubai,  United Arab Emirates- January,  19, 2012: Pakistan cricket fans attends during the third day of the opening Test match between Pakistan and England at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium  in Dubai . (  Satish Kumar / The National ) For Sports
Powered by automated translation

What time do Asia Cup matches start?

The 14th Asia Cup will begin at Dubai International Stadium on Saturday, September 15, when Bangladesh play Sri Lanka. All matches start at 3.30pm UAE time.

India are the holders, having won the first Twenty20 version of the tournament in Dhaka in 2016, but their title defence will not be easy.

The event starts just three days after the scheduled end of their five Test series in England. Given the workload, captain Virat Kohli is skipping the tournament and having a rest instead.

India, who will be led by Rohit Sharma in Kohli's absence, begin their campaign against Hong Kong on Tuesday, September 18 in Dubai, then play rivals Pakistan at the same venue the very next day.

Hong Kong made it to the main event after beating UAE by two wickets in the final of the qualifying tournament in Malaysia.


The six-team tournament will be split into two groups of three. The top two sides from each pool will advance to the Super Four stage. The two highest-placed sides will contest the final on September 28 in Dubai.

Unusually, the two sides that advance from each group will play each other again in the second round – which increases the prospect of India and Pakistan meeting more than once.

It was rumoured that broadcasters wanted the event to continue in the T20 format, as it was last time, in Bangladesh two years ago. That tournament was played in the lead up to the World T20 in India, so it made sense to play that form.

However, the organisers were keen to return to 50-over matches this time around, for broadly similar reasons. This competition will provide valuable, high-stakes preparation with a view to the 50-over World Cup in England next summer.


Read more:

Asia Cup Qualifier: Hong Kong beat UAE to book Asia Cup place

Indian cricket fans in UAE left disappointed by Virat Kohli's absence from Asia Cup squad

India v Pakistan and other Asia Cup match tickets in UAE go on sale

Dubai's chance to host India-Pakistan cricket fixture was a long time coming



A – India, Pakistan, Hong Kong

B – Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Afghanistan


Dubai International Stadium

Zayed Cricket Stadium, Abu Dhabi


Group stage

Sat, Sep 15, Bangladesh v Sri Lanka, Dubai

Sun, Sep 16, Pakistan v Hong Kong, Dubai

Mon, Sep 17, Sri Lanka v Afghanistan, Abu Dhabi

Tue, Sep 18, India v Hong Kong, Dubai

Wed, Sep 19, India v Pakistan, Dubai

Thu, Sep 20, Bangladesh v Afghanistan, Abu Dhabi

(If India advance, tournament conditions stipulate they will play as A Qualifier 1. Therefore, all their matches are guaranteed to be in Dubai)

Super Four

Fri, Sep 21, A Qualifier 1 v B Qualifier 2, Dubai; A Qualifier 2 v B Qualifier 1, Abu Dhabi

Sun, Sep 23, A Qualifier 1 v A Qualifier 2, Dubai; B Qualifier 1 v B Qualifier 2, Abu Dhabi

Tue, Sep 25, A Qualifier 1 v B Qualifier 1, Dubai

Wed, Sep 26, A Qualifier 2 v B Qualifier 2, Abu Dhabi

Fri, Sep 28

Final, Dubai


Tickets for Dubai matches start at Dh35, and for Abu Dhabi's games at Dh20. Visit for more information.


All the matches will be shown live on OSN Cricket HD in the Middle East. Full listings are available at


Coverage of the matches will be broadcast on 89.1 Radio 4 FM and Gold 101.3 FM


India are the most successful side in Asia Cup history, having won six of the 13 tournaments to date.

Sri Lanka are the next most successful, with five titles, while Pakistan have won twice.

It is the third time the tournament has been staged in UAE. The first one, in 1984, was played in Sharjah, where the newly-formed Asian Cricket Council, had their headquarters.

Hong Kong are playing for the third time, having also qualified in 2004 and 2008. Afghanistan are playing for the second time.