CMA Awards 2020: Who won what at the annual celebration of country music?

The event featured a mixture of virtual and in-person appearances from the likes of Miranda Lambert, Justin Bieber and Keith Urban

Beta V.1.0 - Powered by automated translation

The world of country music was celebrated in socially distanced style on Wednesday night, with performances to empty arenas, safely spaced out arrivals and Zoom press conferences.

Hosted by Reba McEntire and Darius Rucker from Nashville's Music City Centre, this year's Country Music Awards belonged to Maren Morris. The 30-year-old singer took home three of the five awards she was nominated for – Female Vocalist of the Year, Single of the Year and Song of the Year for The Bones. 

Morris dedicated her Female Vocalist of the Year win to black women in country music, name-checking a number of artists, including Linda Martell, Mickey Guyton, Yola and Brittney Spencer.

"There are so many amazing black women who pioneered and continue to pioneer this genre ... You've made this genre so, so beautiful, I hope you know that we see you," she said in her speech.

The ceremony included performances from Dan + Shay with Justin Bieber in an empty Hollywood Bowl, Keith Urban and Miranda Lambert.

Singer Justin Bieber and duo Dan + Shay perform "10,000 Hours" from the Hollywood Bowl at the 54th annual Country Music Association Awards in Los Angeles, California, U.S., November 11, 2020. Dustin Downing/Country Music Association, Inc./Handout via REUTERS ATTENTION EDITORS - THIS IMAGE HAS BEEN SUPPLIED BY A THIRD PARTY. NO RESALES. NO ARCHIVES. NO NEW USAGE AFTER NOVEMBER 11, 2021.

Ahead of the show, Lambert led nominations with seven nods, but the Bluebird singer took home just one award for Music Video of the Year. The coveted Entertainer of the Year was given to Eric Church, while Album of the Year and Male Vocalist of the Year awards went to Luke Combs, who was nominated six times. Morgan Wallen took home the New Artist of the Year award.

Red carpet arrivals at the 2020 CMA Awards: 

The full list of winners at the 2020 CMA Awards:

Entertainer of the Year:

Eric Church – Winner 
Luke Combs
Miranda Lambert
Carrie Underwood
Keith Urban

Album of the Year

Heartache Medication, Jon Pardi
Never Will, Ashley McBryde
Old Dominion, Old Dominion
What You See Is What You Get, Luke Combs – Winner
Wildcard, Miranda Lambert

Female Vocalist of the Year

Miranda Lambert
Ashley McBryde
Maren Morris – Winner
Kacey Musgraves
Carrie Underwood

Male Vocalist of the Year

Eric Church
Luke Combs – Winner
Thomas Rhett
Chris Stapleton
Keith Urban

Musical Event of the Year

10,000 Hours, Dan + Shay with Justin Bieber
Be a Light, Thomas Rhett featuring Reba McEntire, Hillary Scott, Chris
Tomlin, Keith Urban
The Bones, Maren Morris with Hozier
Fooled Around and Fell in Love, Miranda Lambert featuring Maren Morris, Elle King, Ashley McBryde, Tenille Townes & Caylee Hammack
I Hope You're Happy Now, Carly Pearce and Lee Brice – Winner

Music Video of the Year

10,000 Hours, Dan + Shay (with Justin Bieber)
Bluebird, Miranda Lambert – Winner
Homemade, Jake Owen
I Hope You're Happy Now, Carly Pearce and Lee Brice
Second One To Know, Chris Stapleton

New Artist of the Year

Jimmie Allen
Ingrid Andress
Gabby Barrett
Carly Pearce
Morgan Wallen – Winner

Single of the Year

10,000 Hours, Dan + Shay & Justin Bieber
Beer Never Broke My Heart, Luke Combs
Bluebird, Miranda Lambert
The Bones, Maren Morris – Winner
I Hope, Gabby Barrett

Song of the Year

Bluebird, Luke Dick, Natalie Hemby, Miranda Lambert
The Bones, Maren Morris, Jimmy Robbins, Laura Veltz – Winner
Even Though I'm Leaving, Luke Combs, Wyatt B. Durrette III, Ray Fulcher
I Hope You're Happy Now, Luke Combs, Randy Montana, Carly Pearce, Jonathan Singleton
More Hearts Than Mine, Ingrid Andress, Sam Ellis, Derrick Southerland

Vocal Group of the Year

Lady A
Little Big Town
Old Dominion – Winner
Rascal Flatts

Vocal Duo of the Year

Brooks & Dunn
Brothers Osborne
Dan + Shay – Winner
Florida Georgia Line
Maddie & Tae

Musician of the Year

Jenee Fleenor, fiddle – Winner
Paul Franklin, steel guitar
Rob McNelley, guitar
Ilya Toshinskiy, guitar
Derek Wells, guitar