Emirates: UAE passenger ban for six countries extended until July 15

Several countries are subject to rolling restrictions that are to be reviewed every few weeks

Latest: Dubai travel restrictions extended until July 21

Emirates airline has extended its ban on arrivals from Pakistan, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka until July 15.

A suspension of passenger flights from India, where the highly infectious Delta variant of the coronavirus was first detected, was also extended until July 15.

Passengers who transited through these countries in the past 14 days will not be allowed to travel to the UAE from any other point.

A ban on passengers from Nigeria and South Africa was also extended to July 15, Emirates said.

“In line with UAE government directives, Emirates will be suspending the carriage of passengers from Bangladesh, Pakistan and Sri Lanka to Dubai until 15 July 2021,” the airline said.

“Furthermore, passengers who have connected through Pakistan, Bangladesh or Sri Lanka in the last 14 days will not be accepted to travel from any other point to the UAE.”

UAE citizens, holders of UAE golden visas and diplomats who comply with updated Covid-19 protocols are exempt from these rules.

The Delta variant accounts for one third of Covid-19 cases in the UAE, officials announced last week.

Reviews of the situation in India have led to flight suspensions being renewed several times.

In the past 24 hours, India recorded 44,111 new coronavirus cases and 738 deaths.

There have been more than 30.5 million Covid-19 cases and more than 400,000 deaths in the country so far.

Covid-19 around the world - in pictures

Updated: July 12th 2021, 10:46 AM