FA Cup draw: Hull and Arsenal rematch 2014 Final, Liverpool and Wimbledon ‘rematch’ 1988 Final

The FA Cup draw was announced on Monday, with a number of intriguing ties set to take place just after the New Year.
Steve Bruce's Hull City side lost the 2014 FA Cup final to Arsenal. Richard Sellers / AP
Steve Bruce's Hull City side lost the 2014 FA Cup final to Arsenal. Richard Sellers / AP

Hull City will have an opportunity to exact a measure of revenge for their FA Cup final defeat to Arsenal after drawing the holders in January’s FA Cup third round.

Hull were beaten 3-2 at Wembley in May in their first FA Cup final as Arsenal ended their nine-year wait for a trophy.

Monday’s third-round draw was held at The Deep Aquarium in Hull with manager Steve Bruce watching on as his side were second to be drawn out, sending them to The Emirates Stadium.

Not only was it a repeat of last May’s final, but the teams had been drawn against each other in a rehearsal before the live television draw.

“It’s quite remarkable. We’d been drawn against Arsenal in the rehearsal,” Bruce, who initially thought it was a home tie, told BBC Sport.

“For it to happen again, it’s an amazing draw. Let’s hope it is as good as the final, because it was a great game.”

Hull captain Curtis Davies said: “I guess it was just meant to be. Hearing about the rehearsal and it being here, in Hull, we were looking forward to (the draw).

“To be first out of the hat with Arsenal was a shock, but we’re looking forward to that.

“We just have to look forward to going there, giving them a good game and hopefully getting through to the next round.”

The third round, which takes place over the first weekend of January, sees the Premier League and Championship clubs join the competition.

Former England captain Alan Shearer and local grassroots volunteer Paul Adamson pulled the 64 balls out for a draw which featured a number of intriguing ties.

League Two AFC Wimbledon – in the third round for the first time in their 12-year history – will host Liverpool in a match which will have many reminiscing about the 1988 final, won by the original Wimbledon.

There were eight non-League sides in the hat, with the pick of the ties involving those teams seeing Dover Athletic drawn with the Premier League’s Crystal Palace.

Dover’s Chris Kinnear Junior, son of the Athletic manager, said: “It’s a great draw. As a non-League team, we were looking for a Premier League club and we’ve got that. It should be a great day.”

Stoke City play Wrexham in another match which pits the game’s elite against a side whose memorable giant-killing act was a defeat of Arsenal in 1992, while West Brom host Gateshead.

Blyth Spartans did not get the glamour tie they were hoping for, but did get a home tie with Birmingham City.

Stephen Turnbull said: “(It is) a bit of an anti-climax. We wanted Manchester United. We’ll give it our best shot.”

Louis van Gaal’s United must instead go to either Accrington or Yeovil, who first play in a second-round replay.

Sunderland host Leeds United in a re-run of the 1973 FA Cup final where Sunderland shocked Leeds by claiming a 1-0 victory.

There will be four all-Premier League ties: Burnley v Tottenham Hotspur, Leicester City v Newcastle United and Everton v West Ham United, plus Arsenal v Hull.

Chelsea, the Premier League leaders and FA Cup winners in four of the last eight seasons, will host Watford of the Championship.

Manchester City, the 2011 winners, play at home to Sheffield Wednesday.

There are six confirmed all-Championship ties, with the Lancashire derby between Bolton and 2013 winners Wigan Athletic the pick.

Chesterfield, whose place in the competition could be in jeopardy after they were charged by the FA with fielding an ineligible player in their second-round win at MK Dons, were drawn to play Scunthorpe or non-League Worcester.


Arsenal v Hull City; Southampton v Ipswich Town; Stoke City v Wrexham; Charlton Athletic v Blackburn Rovers; Dover Athletic v Crystal Palace; AFC Wimbledon v Liverpool; Manchester City v Sheffield Wednesday; Aldershot or Rochdale v Nottingham Forest; West Bromwich Albion v Gateshead; Blyth Spartans v Birmingham City; Aston Villa v Blackpool; Rotherham United v AFC Bournemouth; Huddersfield Town v Reading; Oxford United or Tranmere Rovers v Swansea City; Cardiff City v Colchester United; Bolton Wanderers v Wigan Athletic; Sunderland v Leeds United; Burnley v Tottenham Hotspur; Millwall v Bradford City; Derby County v Southport; Brentford v Brighton & Hove Albion; Fulham v Wolverhampton Wanderers; Leicester city v Newcastle United; Scunthorpe United or Worcester City v Chesterfield; Everton v West Ham United; Cambridge United or Mansfield Town v Bury or Luton Town; Chelsea v Watford; Barnsley or Chester v Middlesbrough; Queens Park Rangers v Sheffield United; Accrington Stanley or Yeovil Town v Manchester United; Preston North End v Norwich City; Doncaster Rovers v Bristol City

Follow us on Twitter @SprtNationalUAE

Published: December 9, 2014 04:00 AM


Editor's Picks
Sign up to:

* Please select one