Mercedes driver Bottas sets Yas Marina Circuit record to claim pole for Abu Dhabi Grand Prix

Finn will hold the advantage over Ferrari rival Vettel as the two drivers battle it out to finish second in the drivers' standings.

ABU DHABI, UNITED ARAB EMIRATES - NOVEMBER 25:  Valtteri Bottas driving the (77) Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Team Mercedes F1 WO8 on track during final practice for the Abu Dhabi Formula One Grand Prix at Yas Marina Circuit on November 25, 2017 in Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates.  (Photo by Mark Thompson/Getty Images)
Powered by automated translation

Valtteri Bottas will start Sunday's Etihad Airways Abu Dhabi Grand Prix from pole position.

The Finn surprised his British world champion teammate Lewis Hamilton with the fastest ever lap around Yas Marina Circuit.

His time of 1 minute 36.231 seconds proved too good for Hamilton, who has already sealed his fourth drivers' world championship.

Sebastian Vettel was third for Ferrari, ahead of Daniel Ricciardo's Red Bull Racing car. Kimi Raikkonen was fifth in the second Ferrari with Max Verstappen sixth for Red Bull.

Sunday's race, which consists of 55 laps, begins at 5pm.


1. Valtteri Bottas, Mercedes-GP
2. Lewis Hamilton, Mercedes-GP

3. Sebastian Vettel, Ferrari
4. Daniel Ricciardo, Red Bull Racing

5. Kimi Raikkonen, Ferrari
6. Max Verstappen, Red Bull Racing

7. Nico Hulkenberg, Renault
8. Sergio Perez, Force India

9. Esteban Ocon, Force India
10. Felipe Massa, Williams

11. Fernando Alonso, McLaren
12. Carlos Sainz Jr, Renault

13. Stoffel Vandoorne, McLaren
14. Kevin Magnussen, Haas

15. Lance Stroll, Williams
16. Romain Grosjean, Haas

17. Pierre Gasly, Toro Rosso
18. Pascal Wehrelin, Sauber

19. Marcus Ericsson, Sauber
20. Brendon Hartley, Toro Rosso