Fifa Club World Cup UAE 2017: All you need to know ahead of the draw

The draw for the 2017 Fifa Club World Cup, hosted in the UAE in December, takes place in Abu Dhabi on Monday. Here’s the breakdown.

YOKOHAMA, JAPAN - DECEMBER 18:  Sergio Ramos of Real Madrid kisses the trophy as Real Madrid celebrate victory during the FIFA Club World Cup final match between Real Madrid and Kashima Antlers at International Stadium Yokohama on December 18, 2016 in Yokohama, Japan.  (Photo by Matt Roberts/Getty Images)
Beta V.1.0 - Powered by automated translation

Who’s competing?

Four of the seven teams have been confirmed for the December 6-16 event: Real Madrid (European champions), Mexico’s FC Pachuca (Concacaf champions), New Zealand’s Auckland City (Oceania champions) and Al Jazira (host representatives). The three remaining teams, the champions from South America, Africa and Asia, will be decided next month. Madrid are the defending champions having last year won the tournament for the second time.




Who plays who?

The only match already confirmed features UAE champions Jazira against Auckland City at Al Ain’s Hazza bin Zayed Stadium on December 6. The winner of that encounter progresses to the second round to join Pachuca, the AFC champions and the Caf champions.

They will be drawn randomly as teams A, B, C and D. Team A will then face Team B (Match 2), with Team C taking on Team D (Match 3). Both quarter-final matches will be played at Abu Dhabi’s Zayed Sports City on December 8.

For the semi-finals, Madrid and the winners of South America’s Copa Libertadores join the competition. The two sides will be drawn randomly against either the winner from Match 2 or the winner from Match 3. The defeated teams in each round meet to contest a play-off for fifth place and third place, respectively, with the latter match played on the day of the final: December 16. Both the third-place play-off and the final take place at Zayed Sports City.

When is the draw made?

The draw begins at 12pm (UAE time) on Monday, at the Fairmont Bab Al Bahr in Abu Dhabi. The ceremony will be streamed live on Fifa’s official website.