Saudi Arabia removed from Abu Dhabi green list: travellers now have to quarantine upon arrival

Mongolia is also scrapped from the list that allows travellers to arrive in the capital without isolation

Abu Dhabi has updated its "green list" of countries and destinations from which travellers can enter the emirate without the need to quarantine on arrival.

Saudi Arabia and Mongolia have been removed from the list of countries.

Travellers from "green" destinations do not need to isolate once they receive a negative test result. Anyone flying into Abu Dhabi from any country not on the list must self-isolate for 10 days.

Originally published in December, the list is updated regularly, with the most recent change taking place on Tuesday.

Scroll through our gallery above to see which countries are on Abu Dhabi's "green list".

No new countries were added to the list as part of the most recent update.

Which countries can I travel from without quarantine? 

There are currently a total of 10 destinations on the green list. They are:

  • Australia
  • Bhutan
  • Brunei
  • China
  • Greenland
  • Hong Kong (SAR)
  • Iceland
  • Mauritius
  • New Zealand
  • Singapore

Inclusion on Abu Dhabi's travel list is dependent on the latest developments regarding a country’s Covid-19 protocols and guidelines. All international travellers to Abu Dhabi must present a negative PCR test result and take a second PCR test upon entering the capital.

Saudi Arabia travel restrictions

In response to the new strain of the coronavirus, Saudi Arabia has tightened border controls.

Flying to the kingdom is temporarily suspended for passengers coming from the UAE, US, Argentina, Germany, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Pakistan, Brazil, Portugal, United Kingdom, Turkey, South Africa, Sweden, Switzerland, France, Lebanon, Egypt, India and Japan.

This includes people coming from other countries if they have passed through any of these destinations. It does not apply to Saudi nationals, diplomats, health practitioners and their families.

Mongolia has also restricted entry for foreigners. There is a current ban on commercial flights, although occasional charter flights are operating to the east Asian country. Only those with valid visas, residency or citizens can fly to Mongolia.