Filmfare Awards 2021: Bollywood films 'Thappad' and 'Gulabo Sitabo' are big winners

The annual event, recognising films released in 2020, was held with strict coronavirus restrictions

From left to right: Taapsee Pannu and Pavail Gulati in 'Thappad'; Irrfan Khan in 'Angrezi Medium'; and Amitabh Bachchan in 'Gulabo Sitabo'. IMDb

For an industry wrecked by the coronavirus pandemic, Bollywood still had a lot to celebrate on Saturday night as it recognised the best of 2020 at the Filmfare Awards.

The long-running awards show, which was held under strict coronavirus restrictions, was mostly devoid of major stars, thanks to scant film releases in 2020 as cinemas were shuttered, but meant smaller films got much-deserved time in the spotlight.

Thappad, a film about a woman who begins to question her marriage, and her worth, after she's slapped by her husband, was the big winner of the night, taking home seven awards. It won Best Film, Best Actress for Taapsee Pannu and Best Story, among others.

"Thappad keeps leaving memories to cherish," the actress posted on Instagram soon after her win.

Pannu also won the Best Actress award in 2020 for her role in the biopic Saand Ki Aankh.

Another big winner on Saturday night, with six awards, was Gulabo Sitabo, the comedy starring Indian acting heavyweight Amitabh Bachchan and Ayushmann Khurrana. Bachchan won Best Actor (Critics), while Farrukh Jaffar won Best Supporting Actress.

There were also colourful entertainment performances, always one of the highlights of the annual show. Superstar Hrithik Roshan danced to some of his biggest hits, as Khurrana performed songs inspired by the festivals of India. The country celebrates the festival of colours, Holi, on Sunday.

Sara Ali Khan, who won Best Debut in 2019, also performed for the first time on the Filmfare Awards stage.

Other performers included Sunny Leone, Nora Fatehi and actor Rajkummar Rao, who also hosted the show.

Actor Irrfan Khan, known for his work in both Bollywood and Hollywood, was also posthumously honoured with a Lifetime Achievement Award, as well as a Best Actor trophy for his role in the satire Angrezi Medium. Khan, who was diagnosed with a neuroendocrine tumour in 2018, died last year in April.

Irrfan Khan in Angrezi Medium (2020) courtesy: IMDb

Actor Sushant Singh Rajput, who died last year in June, was also remembered, as choreographer Farah Khan won Best Choreography for the title song of Dil Bechara, featuring Rajput. Dil Bechara, a remake of the Hollywood film The Fault in Our Stars, was Rajput's last film.

Alaya F, the daughter of actress Pooja Bedi, who starred in Jawaani Jaaneman, won Best Debut. The comedy, also starring Saif Ali Khan, was one of the last big films to release in 2020 before cinemas were shut.

Khan also won for a Best Supporting Actor award for his role in Tanhaji: The Unsung Warrior, the period epic based on the life of a Maratha warrior. Starring actor Ajay Devgn in the lead, the film was a critical and box office hit, becoming the highest-grossing film of 2020 in India.

Here is the full list of Filmfare Award winners

Best Film: Thappad

Best Director: Om Raut for Tanhaji: The Unsung Warrior

Best Film (Critics): Eeb Allay Ooo!

Best Actor in a Leading Role (Male): Irrfan Khan in Angrezi Medium

Best Actor (Critics): Amitabh Bachchan in Gulabo Sitabo

Best Actor in a Leading Role (Female): Taapsee Pannu in Thappad

Best Actor (Critics): Tillotama Shome in Sir

Best Actor in a Supporting Role (Male): Saif Ali Khan in Tanhaji: The Unsung Warrior

Best Actor in a Supporting Actor Role (Female): Farrukh Jaffar in Gulabo Sitabo

Best Story: Anubhav Sushila Singh and Mrunmayee Lagoo Waikul for Thappad

Best Screenplay: Rohena Gera for Sir

Best Dialogue: Juhi Chaturvedi for Gulabo Sitabo

Best Debut Director: Rajesh Krishnan for Lootcase

Best Debut Female: Alaya F in Jawaani Jaaneman

Best Music Album: Pritam for Ludo

Best Lyrics: Gulzar for Chhapaak

Best Playback Singer (Male): Raghav Chaitanya for Ek Tukda Dhoop from Thappad

Best Playback Singer (Female): Asees Kaur for Malang title song

Lifetime Achievement Award: Irrfan Khan

Best Action: Ramazan Bulut, RP Yadav for Tanhaji: The Unsung Warrior

Best Background Score: Mangesh Urmila Dhakde for Thappad

Best Cinematography: Abhik Mukhopadhyay for Gulabo Sitabo

Best Choreography: Farah Khan for Dil Bechara title song

Best Costume Design: Veera Kapur Ee for Gulabo Sitabo

Best Editing: Yasha Pushpa Ramchandani for Thappad

Best Production Design: Manasi Dhruv Mehta for Gulabo Sitabo

Best Sound Design: Kaamod Kharade for Thappad

Best VFX: Prasad Sutar, NY Vfxwaala for Tanhaji: The Unsung Warrior


Read more:

Karan Johar launches Shanaya Kapoor in Bollywood debut, sparking nepotism debate again

Bollywood films for 2021: All the titles set to hit cinemas this year