Abu Dhabi 'green' list: No new countries added to quarantine-free travel list ahead of spring break

Kazakhstan's removal means there are now 12 countries on the list which allows travellers to skip isolation

Beta V.1.0 - Powered by automated translation

No additional destinations have been added to Abu Dhabi's updated list of countries and destinations from which travellers can enter the emirate without the need to quarantine.

In the most up-to-date review of the "green list" of countries, regions and territories that require no quarantine in Abu Dhabi, Kazakhstan was removed.

No additional destinations were added to the updated list on Sunday. The amendment was the last regularly scheduled update ahead of the UAE spring break holiday, which will start on Sunday.


Originally published in December, the list is updated every two weeks and countries can be removed or added to it depending on the Covid-19 situation in each destination.

Travellers flying into Abu Dhabi, or into Dubai and then travelling by road to the capital, from countries that are not ranked on the "green list" must quarantine upon arrival.

Travellers from these 12 countries do not need to quarantine in the UAE

  • Australia
  • Bhutan
  • Brunei
  • China
  • Greenland
  • Hong Kong
  • Iceland
  • Mauritius
  • Morocco
  • New Zealand
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Singapore

Is travel to 'green listed' countries open without quarantine?

Travellers who plan to visit one of the destinations listed on Abu Dhabi's non-quarantine list over the spring break period, or at any time, should be aware that not all countries on the list allow reciprocal quarantine-free travel.

Some destinations have not yet reopened for tourism and others have strict regulations in place for arriving visitors.

It's critical to check individual destination requirements for the most recent regulations, and people who plan to travel should be aware that entry rules and flight availability can and do change rapidly.

Kazakhstan, which was removed from the list in the most recent update on Sunday, is not open for tourism purposes.

Authorities in the central Asian country have imposed restrictions on people entering the country, with most foreign nationals not allowed to visit at this time.

'Green' list countries where Abu Dhabi residents can take a holiday

Iceland and Morocco are the only two countries on Abu Dhabi's most recent 'green' list that offer quarantine-free holiday options for Abu Dhabi residents. Unsplash

Of the 12 countries in the most recent update of Abu Dhabi's "green" list, only two of them are valid options for a quarantine-free holiday for Abu Dhabi residents.

Australia, Bhutan, China, Greenland, Hong Kong, Mauritius, New Zealand, and Saudi Arabia remain closed for tourism purposes. Brunei is open to a very limited number of travellers with hotel quarantine upon arrival. Singapore is open to short-term business travellers from approved countries as part of the region's safe travel schemes.

Iceland is one country on the list where travelling could be possible for some Abu Dhabi residents. The country is reopening to fully vaccinated travellers on Friday. Tourists with approved vaccination certificates flying into Iceland will not need to quarantine upon arrival. Currently, there are no direct flights from Abu Dhabi to Iceland, but connections exist via Etihad, Lufthansa and Icelandair.

Morocco has opened to travellers from 32 countries and territories, including the UAE. Unsplash

Morocco is another holiday option. The kingdom reopened to travellers from 35 territories, including the UAE, in March. Inbound tourists must present a negative PCR Covid-19 test and show proof of a booking at a Moroccan hotel, but there are no quarantine requirements. Etihad flies direct from Abu Dhabi to Casablanca, with three flights per week.