Watch William Shatner blast into space on Blue Origin

'Star Trek' actor to board 'New Shepard' rocket on Wednesday

Beta V.1.0 - Powered by automated translation

Star Trek actor William Shatner will boldly venture into outer space on Wednesday morning, decades after making his first appearance as Captain James T Kirk.

The mission comes three months after US billionaire and Amazon founder Jeff Bezos first made the trip to space on a ship built by his Blue Origin company.

How to watch online

What: Launch of Blue Origin's New Shepard spacecraft

When: Wednesday, October 13, at 9.30am EST / 2.30pm BST / 5.30pm GST

Where: Blue Origin's launch site near Van Horn, Texas

Stream: Watch the live stream on YouTube

Boldly going

Wednesday's flight is expected to last about as long as Blue Origin's inaugural mission with Mr Bezos, which took a little over 10 minutes.

At age 90, Shatner will be the oldest person to ever visit space.

Even though he is a seasoned – fictional – space explorer, Shatner is still a bit nervous about the flight.

“I'm Captain Kirk and I'm terrified of going to space,” he said while appearing on a Comic-Con panel last week.

The three other crew members joining Shatner include: Chris Boshuizen, a former Nasa engineer; Glen de Vries, a clinical research entrepreneur; and Audrey Powers, a Blue Origin vice president and engineer.

Updated: October 13, 2021, 1:38 PM
EDITOR'S PICKS
NEWSLETTERS
MORE FROM THE NATIONAL