Singapore GP results: Nico Rosberg holds off Daniel Ricciardo, takes F1 championship lead

Nico Rosberg ran a clean race and the hard-charging Daniel Ricciardo couldn't get quite close enough to be a threat in the end at the Singapore Grand Prix on Sunday.

Mercedes driver Nico Rosberg jumps from his car as he celebrates winning the Singapore Grand Prix on Sunday. Mohd Rasfan / AFP / September 18, 2016
Powered by automated translation

1 Nico Rosberg 1:55.48.950; 2 Daniel Ricciardo +0.488; 3 Lewis Hamilton +8.038; 4 Kimi Raikkonen +10.219; 5 Sebastian Vettel +27.694; 6 Max Verstappen +1:11.197; 7 Fernando Alonso +1:29.198; 8 Sergio Perez +1:51.062; 9 Daniil Kvyat +1:51.557; 10 Kevin Magnussen +1:59.952; 11 Esteban Gutierrez +1 lap; 12 Felipe Massa +1 lap; 13 Felipe Nasr +1 lap; 14 Carlos Sainz Jr +1 lap; 15 Jolyon Palmer +1 lap; 16 Pascal Wehrlein +1 lap; 17 Marcus Ericsson +1 lap; 18 Esteban Ocon +2 laps; DNF Jenson Button, Valtteri Bottas, Nico Hulkenberg, Romain Grosjean

As so often happens in Singapore, Nico Rosberg turned pole into victory on Sunday and in the process overtook Mercedes-GP teammate Lewis Hamilton at the top of the Formula One standings with six races to go.

It is the seventh time in nine years that the man who took pole at the Marina Bay Circuit prevailed.

Daniel Ricciardo battled well behind the German Mercedes driver throughout the race in his Red Bull Racing car, but could not quite get into position in the waning laps to make a serious run at the German after taking large chunks out of the German's lead on fresher laps, settling for second.

With the win, Rosberg takes an eight-point lead in the race for the title with six rounds remaining. Hamilton, who finished third ahead of Ferrari’s Kimi Raikkonen, is seeking a third successive championship and fourth overall, having prevailed in the past two seasons.

Rosberg started the season by winning each of the four races before Hamilton reeled off a six-out-of-seven victories stretch between Monaco and Germany.

Rosberg has won the last three races however, and leads Hamilton in overall race victories 8-6. No driver has ever won eight races in a Formula One season and not won the championship.

Red Bull's Ricciardo solidified his hold on third with the runner-up finish, his fourth this year.

There was drama from the start as Nico Hulkenberg’s Force India ran into Carlos Sainz Jr’s Toro Rosso and spun out spectacularly, causing the safety car to come out on the first lap.

It allowed Ferrari's Sebastian Vettel, starting from the back of the grid after mechanical issues throughout practice and qualifying this weekend, to change strategy and work his way into a fifth-place finish.

Where they stand

1 Nico Rosberg 273 points (8 race wins)

2 Lewis Hamilton 265 points (6 race wins)

3 Daniel Ricciardo 179 points

What remains

Malaysia (October 2), Japan (October 9), United States (October 23), Mexico (October 30), Brazil (November 13), Abu Dhabi (November 27)

Follow us on Twitter @NatSportUAE

Like us on Facebook at