Abu Dhabi updates travel rules for citizens, residents and tourists

Authorities confirm both vaccinated and unvaccinated tourists arriving in the capital from green countries no longer need to self-isolate

Powered by automated translation

Follow the latest updates on the Covid-19 pandemic here

Abu Dhabi has issued updated travel protocols for Emiratis, residents and tourists landing in the emirate from Sunday.

Under the new rules, issued by the Abu Dhabi Emergency, Crisis and Disasters Committee on Saturday, vaccinated and unvaccinated travellers arriving in the capital from green list countries do not need to quarantine.

Immunised travellers must take a PCR test on arrival and are subject to a further test on the sixth day.

Unvaccinated passengers are subject to the above rules, but must also take an additional PCR test on day nine.

New rules for tourists

The ruling now includes visitors, having previously only covered Emiratis and residents returning from abroad.

The directive follows a move by officials to allow tourists and new residents who were vaccinated abroad to upload their vaccine certificate to Al Hosn, the UAE's vaccine and testing app.

This will be particularly important as Al Hosn is expected to be widely used when Abu Dhabi introduces restrictions on unvaccinated people entering public places from August 20.

The app is also increasingly used for travel, with several airlines accepting it as official proof of PCR tests.

Vaccinated travellers from non-green list destinations must self-isolate for seven days on arrival.

They must also take PCR tests on landing in Abu Dhabi and on day six.

Unvaccinated citizens, residents and visitors arriving in Abu Dhabi from green list destinations must take a PCR test on arrival without the need to quarantine, and take a PCR test on days six and nine.

When arriving from other destinations, they must take a PCR test on arrival, quarantine for 10 days and take another PCR test on day nine.

Abu Dhabi updated its quarantine-free travel green list last month, which now contains 31 destinations, down from 35 earlier in July.

In total, the emirate added eight countries to its updated list, including Bahrain, Bulgaria, Czech Republic and the Maldives.

Travellers can now fly to and from those destinations and will not have to self-isolate on arrival in Abu Dhabi.

Twelve countries were removed from the travel list, including European destinations France, Netherlands, Norway, Sweden and Ireland, where cases are rising owing to the spread of the Delta variant.

Updated: August 15, 2021, 7:26 AM