Which countries have suspended AstraZeneca's Covid-19 vaccine?

Despite the company insisting the vaccine is safe and the WHO continuing to recommend it, a number of nations have banned it

Powered by automated translation

Several countries globally have suspended the use of the AstraZeneca coronavirus vaccine over blood clotting fears.

A handful of cases of bleeding, blood clots and low platelet counts have arisen within the 45 million doses of various vaccines given in the EU and its near neighbours.

Germany reported seven cases, of which three died, out of 1.6 million people who received the AstraZeneca vaccine. It remains unclear if there is a direct link to the shots.

At the height of suspensions, around 22 nations, including 12 EU members, suspended use of the vaccine.

Countries are now removing their suspensions after the European Medicines Agency recommended the use of the vaccine after its own investigation.

The WHO has said the vaccine is safe for use and experts told The National they expected the suspensions to be lifted soon.

Thailand, whose Prime Minister Prayut Chan-o-cha received the AstraZeneca vaccine, moved to allow its use after the delay of the shot's distribution was lifted.

Four more countries suspend use of AstraZeneca vaccine over blood clot fears

Four more countries suspend use of AstraZeneca vaccine over blood clot fears

"We do not want people to panic and we would, for the time being, recommend that countries continue vaccinating with AstraZeneca," WHO chief scientist Soumya Swaminathan said Monday.

Here are the nations that once suspended use of the vaccine.

The nations that had suspended the AstraZeneca Covid vaccine:

1. Sweden

2. Latvia

3. France

4. Germany

5. Italy

6. Spain

7. Luxembourg

8. Cyprus

9. Portugal

10. Venezuela

11. Slovenia

12. Indonesia

13. The Netherlands

14. Ireland

15. Bulgaria

16. The Democratic Republic of the Congo

17. Lithuania

18. Romania

19. Iceland

20. Denmark

21. Norway

22. Austria