Dubai Golf League will hone competitive edge

American Academy foursome edge out Wellington school in the second event of the Dubai Schools Golf League at Dubai Creek Golf and Yacht Club.

DUBAI // Innan Budhiraja, Aditya Judge, Nikhil Nanda and Diya Chopra combined effectively to guide the Dubai American Academy to an impressive victory in the second event of the Dubai Schools Golf League at Dubai Creek Golf and Yacht Club.

The foursome carded a tidy 58 points to beat their nearest challengers Wellington International School in the league which also featured teams from Jess School, the American School of Dubai and St Mary's Holy Catholic School.

One of the highlights of the competition, sponsored by the Emirates Golf Federation, was the stunning performance of Rayhan Thomas.



An expatriate mother of three laments sporting culture in schools
Al Yasmina secure Abu Dhabi swimming gala


Playing as an individual, the 11-year-old prodigy from St Mary's provided a glimpse of his precocious talent when he won the prestigious gross prize on a countback with 39 strokes.

Chopra also made her presence felt, winning the individual best net stableford prize with 18 points while Austin Hurlbut of the American School and Viet Nga Petersen, of Wellington, walked away with the nearest to the pin and the longest drive prizes respectively.

Organised by the American Academy's Chopra, the league will serve as a perfect launch pad for a major inter-school tournament which the young golfing enthusiast plans to start later in the year.

"There is no dearth of enthusiasm for the game and that has led to a perceptible rise in the standard of the game among juniors, in particular.

"We need an inter-school tournament to create more playing opportunities for the youngsters and hone their competitive edge," said Chopra, who also thanked the Emirates Golf Federation for all their help in organising the league.

The next event will be held on April 20 at Emirates Golf Club Faldo Course with a 4pm tee off.

The league's first competition was won by Dubai College when they defeated the American Academy by five shots.

Daniel Hendry, Conor Seabrook, Henry Turpie and Rahul Dungarwal represented the winning team.

Saeed Albudoor, the general manager of Emirates Golf Federation, said: "We are delighted with the response received to this event and thank all participating schools.

"Our support to this event is as part of our commitment to junior golf development."